Algae is driving me crazy

Kenneth456

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I’m kinda new to this hobby. I have a 55 gallon tank that I’ve had for about 2 years maybe 2 and a half now. For the first year everything in the tank looked beautiful and never had any problems. I moved out of my parents house and took the tank with me. While the tank was at my moms house I would do 20 gallon water changes once a month which was about 40% of the water. I had a old style wet/dry system with no skimmer or anything. Once I moved it and set it up about a month later algae began to take over. My phosphate levels were high which have never been a problem in the past. I did water changes every week of about 10 gallons to try to lower them but it would still some how end up high. I feed the fish the same amount of food and didn’t change anything. I talked to my local aquarium store and talked about getting a skimmer to help with the phosphate levels. I found one on Craigslist along with a sump and set it up thinking it would help. I also added a chemi-blue carbon media bag into the sump to help as well. As well with all that I completely emptied my tank and moved it away from a window which I thought the sunlight could be another factor in the algae growth. I brushed off almost all of the algae from the rocks in my bath tub with just water. Cleaned out all the sand with a hose and set the tank back up away from any sunlight. The skimmer I got is a aqua C which still says patent pending on the side. I got it running and all new water into the tank. Some how the algae came right back. I was so ticked at this point, spent so much money to end up in the same exact spot I’ve been at.. so I did some more research and found Fluconazole online and everybody has such great results from it. Luckily my local fish store had some new stuff called reef flux which contained 10 pills and each pill was 200mg Fluconazole. It said to dose 1 pill per 10 gallons of water. S