Anthias with Ich??

clhardy5

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
These Anthias are going to be the death of me! Yesterday I was posting about pop eye - which is getting better. Now I think they have ich........Backstory:
For the last 3.5 weeks, I have three Anthias in QT - along with a baby long nose hawkfish. They were treated with API General cure and came out of it fine. They are all three eating, swimming normally. I do have some aggression in the tank - the largest female keeps the two smaller ones 'in their corners'. I didn't treat with copper as I read that Anthias are very sensitive to it - so my plan was to watch them for 6 weeks - and I thought about doing the Molly thing - but hadn't acted on it. Anyway, fast forward to now, the two smaller females have what appears to be Ich. But...I have zero experience identifying - so I'm asking here. Am I correct? Is this Ich? Should I try TTM (I do have a setup) - or start treating with copper. I have cupramine and a Salifert test that I bought just in case.

The water in the QT is changed out every couple of days (50%)...and I test ammonia regularly. Just want to do what's best for these fish, and help them through quarantine - but need advice. Can I wait till tomorrow to start treatment?

IMG_6187.jpeg

IMG_6186.jpeg

Idoc

Getting lazier and lazier with upkeep!
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Are there spots anywhere else on the fish besides on the fins? I can't see any other shots in the pics.

If it's only on the fins, it could just be lymph, which doesn't need to be treated. But, lymph spots won't go away in a couple days. If the spots "change" location...ie, some disappear and others pop up... then you probably have a case of ich.

Upvote 0
OP
OP
clhardy5

clhardy5

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Are there spots anywhere else on the fish besides on the fins? I can't see any other shots in the pics.