ANTS!

ddenora

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Have a bit of an ant problem in my basement this year. Keep finding them in my sump. Cant find much information on them in a reef tank anywhere. I know they are full of formic acid which I assume is not good for the tank. Been doing 20 gallon water changes every week on my 90. Id say 70% of all coral seem unaffected, but the 30% mostly euphyllia, mushrooms and zoas aren't open as big as they normally are or have melted. Anyone have any experience with this issue and how did you solve the ant problem and the problem they caused in your tank? Starting to affect more and more everyday I look. TIA! PLEASE HELP!

JoshH

Tank Status: Wet...ish, growing things....
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
When did you start doing the WCs? When you realized you were getting ants in the tank? Or is this your normal schedule? I have no personal experience with ants in the tank but I can't see them doing much harm chemistry wise.

What are some current parameters of your tank? I feel you're stripping a lot of your nutrients out which is why your euphyllia are cranky.

Also do you have any poison out to kill them? This might be getting into your tank if these ants are carrying it back to there nest and fall into your sump.

#Reefsquad any other ideas here?

Oh also you can spread baby powder around your sump itself and the ants will steer clear of it. This is how ant keepers keep them in there homes when changing out food.

Last edited:

Goose91

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
If you dont have any other pets in the house spray some doctor doom around the base of the tank, the ants will not cross that barrier and your tank will remain ant free without having to put any ant poison in the sump area. Also hit them buggers in the spot they are coming out of with some foaming spray, did a solid nunber on em in my garage

Last edited:
OP
OP
ddenora

ddenora

View Badges