Anyone finding diff results from ICP over test kits??

waxhawreefer

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I’ve been using aquaforest products for 6 months, reef salt, component 1,2,3, for trace minor/major, I know there’s an aquaforest ICP test but not available in the states so I’ve been using the ATI one from marine depot, I test my tank , write down my results, then fill the vials and send them, I do like how ATI test ur rodi water also,, only did this twice but always amazed how different the results for which I test for comes back,
Red Sea nitrate-5ppm= was 12ppm
Cal Salifert 450=was 490, not bad
Alk Hanna 7.2= was 6.86, low
Mag salifert 1350= was 1390 , not bad
Phos Hanna not ulr.06= was .02 , better
All other levels were in the green-good, except both times iodine was low, and barium, I was just wondering if others find different results??

S-t-r-e-t-c-h

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Not that surprising, really. Reagents degrade over time, not just after their expiration date, so even good test protocol isn't going to give you perfect numbers. In particular, low range nitrate test kits are notoriously unreliable, so pinpointing the exact number is almost impossible at home. Nevermind human error... :)

All that said, the numbers above aren't far enough off to functionally make much difference in what actions you should take. You get into much more trouble trying to chase particular numbers in this hobby. Knowing when things are stable / on upswing / decreasing is much more important.

Disclaimer; I've never run an ICP test myself but I'd trust the accuracy of those results more than my at home testing.

OP
OP
waxhawreefer

waxhawreefer

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0