ato reefkeeper

Discussion in 'Aquarium Controllers' started by reefwreck, Nov 29, 2017.

  1. reefwreck

    reefwreck Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2017
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    1
    anybody use rkl for ato and if so i do you set it up
     
    Tags:

  2. reefwreck

    reefwreck Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2017
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    1
    anybody use rkl?
     
  3. n2585722

    n2585722 Well-Known Member R2R Supporter Build Thread Contributor Partner Member 2018

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2013
    Messages:
    862
    Likes Received:
    210
    Location:
    Cedar Park, Tx
    What modules do you have?
     
  4. Codemonkey812

    Codemonkey812 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2012
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Kent, OH
    While I have since upgraded, I did use a RKL to control my ATO
     
  5. EuroDriver

    EuroDriver Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2017
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    28
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    I used to use an RKL to control an ATO system. You'll need an SL-1 (now SLX) or SL-2 to connect a float switch to one of the switch inputs. Connect you feed pump (I used a Tom's Aqualifter) to a PC4 and have it turn on or off when the switch is open or closed (configure to your liking).
    One of the issues I had with the RKL is because the aqualifter draws so little amperage, I had to connect an illuminated power strip between the pump and the PC4 because sometimes it wouldn't turn off. Other than that, using the Digital Aquatics float switch is the simplest, hassle-free and most reliable ATO system I have ever run.
     
  6. reefwreck

    reefwreck Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2017
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    1
    SL2 only right now getting acl for kesils that i ordered
     
  7. EuroDriver

    EuroDriver Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2017
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    28
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    I might have a spare ALC if you need one. Let me know.
     
  8. Dukeap

    Dukeap New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2017
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Orlando, fl
    Hi, on your pc4 you need to plug in the pump to the first or the last socket those are for less power/watt items the center two are for higher power and its why they stick and dont turn off. I use 3 toms for dosing chemicals. I actually had my ato setup with a timer on the rkl since i didnt have acl. I check for a week how much water it went down each day and then program the timer to fill that amount through out the day, not as easy as the float switch but worked for me until i got an actual ato system.
     
  9. reefwreck

    reefwreck Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2017
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    1
    So i hook pump to 1 or 4 socket and hook up my switches low and high
     
  10. Dukeap

    Dukeap New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2017
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Orlando, fl
    Yes but there is more, go to youtube.com and type rkl ato setup and there is a few videos on it because you got to setup an alarm for your switch and then connect it to the socket to trigger the on and off
     
  11. reefwreck

    reefwreck Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2017
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    1
    ill do that
     
  12. n2585722

    n2585722 Well-Known Member R2R Supporter Build Thread Contributor Partner Member 2018

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2013
    Messages:
    862
    Likes Received:
    210
    Location:
    Cedar Park, Tx
    If it is a PB4 it has built in circuits to keep the back EMF pulse from causing an issue.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page

Loading...