AUTO AQUA SMART ATO MICRO ALMOST KILLED MY NANO

ryboy707

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Bought this for my 5 gallon nano tank about 3 weeks ago. Came home to hear this thing beeping and water all over the floor. The rodi container was bone dry. At first I thought the tubing had slipped out of the holder that holds the line onto the tank because it fits so loose, then when I noticed everything was sound there I checked the salinity and my fear was confirmed. Salinity was at 16.5 ppt. The optical sensor failed and dumped the whole reservoir into the tank. Beware of this product

Crabs McJones

I'm so shi-nay
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Sorry to hear :( I've been using the big brother version of this top off for almost 4 years now with no issues. Possibly a defective one from factory. How did you have it set up? Can you share pictures?

jschultzbass

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
From the Manufacturer:
AutoAqua incorporated their QST (Quick Security Technology) into the ATO’s monitoring system. The Smart Mini Controller records the time it takes to top off the aquarium the first time you turn it on. If at any time the refill pump runs longer than three times the initial top off time, the system sends out an audible alert and turns on a blinking red LED.

This is their backup in case the optical sensor fails. I'm surprised it didn't trigger!

OP
OP
R

ryboy707

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
From the Manufacturer:
AutoAqua incorporated their QST (Quick Security Technology) into the ATO’s monitoring system. The Smart Mini Controller records the time it takes to top off the aquarium the first time you turn it on. If at any time the refill pump runs longer than three times the initial top off time, the system sends out an audible alert and turns on a blinking red LED.

This is their backup in case the optical sensor fails. I'm surprised it didn't trigger!