Can high copper level kill corals

ChrisNash

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi , I am new to reefing hobby. My tank is a 184 Gallon tank, 6 weeks old now with 4 clown fishes. The LFS gave me a hammer coral and a leather coral in the fourth week to start with. However both corals never thrived in the tank. The tank began to smell and both corals died. The LFS said it was due to high copper in the water as all the other readings were normal. There are no copper pipes in the tank set up. The ATO uses RODI water directly from the RODI set up. There are however brass fittings in the plumbing that is used to circulate water to the chiller as it is located few meters away from the tank. My question is can high copper kill corals? Can brass fittings raise copper levels? What can I do to bring copper levels down to zero? I bought the tank especially to keep corals and am quite disappointed. Thanks for your advice in advance. Regards Chris

Badilac

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi , I am new to reefing hobby. My tank is a 184 Gallon tank, 6 weeks old now with 4 clown fishes. The LFS gave me a hammer coral and a leather coral in the fourth week to start with. However both corals never thrived in the tank. The tank began to smell and both corals died. The LFS said it was due to high copper in the water as all the other readings were normal. There are no copper pipes in the tank set up. The ATO uses RODI water directly from the RODI set up. There are however brass fittings in the plumbing that is used to circulate water to the chiller as it is located few meters away from the tank. My question is can high copper kill corals? Can brass fittings raise copper levels? What can I do to bring copper levels down to zero? I bought the tank especially to keep corals and am quite disappointed. Thanks for your advice in advance. Regards Chris