Cheap UV?

Heres_doe_

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Anyone recommend any cheaper options of UV for a 140 gallon tank. Do those pond uv do the same thing for a reef tank or is there a difference.

CasperOe

In it to win it!
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Not sure what "cheap" is in your opinion but I have been running an Evolution Aqua 25w for a couple of years with good results on a 135 gallon tank.

White unit on the wall to the left of the tank.

They're dead cheap (well, £150) although I am unsure whether they are available in the US.

1000001778.jpg

Last edited:

piranhaman00

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Not sure what "cheap" is in your opinion but I have been running an Evolution Aqua 25w for a couple of years with good results on a 135 gallon tank.

White unit on the wall to the left of the tank.

They're dead cheap although I am unsure whether they are available in the US.

1000001778.jpg

All your electronics are mounted right above the tank?

OP, all UVs work the same, quality of materials is different. I would use o recommend only high end UVs due to plastic degradation, however that happens with all units it seems and doesn’t appear to be a problem as far as the inhabitants are concerned.

CasperOe

In it to win it!
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
All your electronics are mounted right above the tank?

OP, all UVs work the same, quality of materials is different. I would use o recommend only high end UVs due to plastic degradation, however that happens with all units it seems and doesn’t appear to be a problem as far as the inhabitants are concerned.
Aye. They are. Is there a question in there? :p

Joking aside - with the tank 10 inches from the wall with a glass lid and sufficient ventilation ;) No issues there! We all gotta work with the space we have and find the best solutions considering the challenges that that presents, right?