Clam Questions

FishAreCool

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I am thinking about a crocea or maxima clam for my 16 gallon biocube when my tank is established. I have some questions.

1) Which is easier to care for?
2) Could I even be able to put one in my biocube?

anthonygf

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Maybe if your tank is at least one year old and parameters stable with strong light. I have tried several times but the longest I was able to keep one alive was close to 2 years. I give up on them, even though I have been reefing for 7 years I am just not experienced enough to keep them alive for very long. The last one I had grew several inches but it just died one day. It broke my heart to see my pet die after 2 years. Good luck if you try one and learn all you can on their requirements and more.

bnord

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Agree with the need for stability, and light. Maxima on the reef can be in 2 feet of water at low tide.

Also if you get a small one it will need feeding

Also if it is growing it will need Calcium and Mag stable either through regular water changes (easier for a small tank) or via supplements

OP
OP
FishAreCool

FishAreCool

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I also might get a coco worm for my tank when it is established. Will a clam take food away from it to the point its not getting enough food?

anthonygf

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
You do not spot feed clams or coco worms. Broadcast feeding is best, use a turkey baster type tool and spread the food to form a cloud near the clam with return pump off and wave makers on so the food will circulate throughout the tank. The clam will intake the food and water, the worm will catch particles with it's feathers.

anthonygf

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0