Coralline algae not growing please help

GupGup

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
g day guys I’m really new to the hobby and well this is my first tank and set up And it’s been going since about November last year
So it’s like a 120L tank and I have a few cloves in there with a green star polyp And I thought they were all going well. In fact I still do But I’m not noticing the coralline algae that I see in so many others successful tanks
And of course I want my tank to be successful
So is there any chance you guys could help me out ?? :)))

Justice4u2

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
g day guys I’m really new to the hobby and well this is my first tank and set up And it’s been going since about November last year
So it’s like a 120L tank and I have a few cloves in there with a green star polyp And I thought they were all going well. In fact I still do But I’m not noticing the coralline algae that I see in so many others successful tanks
Welcome GupGup

Congratulations on the new tank.

When you started your aquarium, did you start with new dry rock? Coralline has to be introduced to the system, if you started with new dry rock or live rock without any coralline, you will need to get a small rock from a tank that has some coralline algae on it. I have even heard of hobbyist grinding up coralline algae into a sand/dust and dumping that into the tank.

In addition, it does take some time for it to grow. I add some new live rock into my aquarium several months ago and it still does not have any coralline on it yet.

Roytrolls247

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
^^Just like @Justice4u2 said you have to introduce it into your tank. Plus coralline likes stable conditions no alk swings and steady calcium and mag just like corals. My advice is to monitor those levels and introduce coralline into your tank. It still takes several weeks/Months to establish even after you seed it..

EvanDeVita

View Badges