Day 5 of cycling question

jbonez_

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello everyone,

Five days ago I started my fishless cycle using Dr Tim's one and only, my water volume is 14.5 gallons and I dosed the whole 4oz bottle.

The reading for each day are the same each day Ph 8.0, Ammonia 1.0 and Nitrite 0. I tested my Nitrates today and it's at 5. Is my tank cycling? I'm new to this and very confused why I haven't seen my nitrites spike at all. To me it seems like the tank hasn't began to cycle, any knowledge would be great.

brandon429

why did you put a reef in that
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
the easy thing to do would be to convert your setup into a testless cycle

where testing isn't what you track, that way testing can't mislead you

to make this a testless cycle simply add right now into the tank a pinch of fish food, any brand. let this all stew until 12/8/23 and then do a water change. your cycle will be done. if you change all the water then that's the cleanest start/least algae fuel for the new tank when you add life to it.

and if you only change a percent of the water, then more harmless algae fuel nitrogen will be left in the water for potentially slightly more algae growth when lighting + animals begin.

on day ten after adding feed and bottle bac = cycling done

OP
OP
jbonez_

jbonez_

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
the easy thing to do would be to convert your setup into a testless cycle

where testing isn't what you track, that way testing can't mislead you

to make this a testless cycle simply add right now into the tank a pinch of fish food, any brand. let this all stew until 12/8/23 and then do a water change. your cycle will be done. if you change all the water then that's the cleanest start/least algae fuel for the new tank when you add life to it.