Does anyone else enjoy DIY as much as livestock?

Strawberry

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I am new to this hobby and I’ve come to learn that the DIY portion seems to be just as satisfying as routine tank maintenance and even placing corals. I started with a heavily modded Biocube 29g that I purchased from someone getting out of the hobby. It was basically a rescue mission and I just feel really accomplished with the results. Anyways here’s Wonderwall

Before:
ED31CDC3-ADCB-46F0-98D8-D45E2FE8A122.png

After:
5A5D3F7A-4DB1-4F15-88F9-1B8E188355CE.jpeg

6576C109-D743-4DC7-B001-BC87FA849446.jpeg

I made a couple of brackets out of lexan and added a nice concealed top.

OP
OP
Strawberry

Strawberry

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I work in ready engineering and a tinkerer by nature. I love diy problem solving especially filtration. Plus I'm pretty thrifty so I like saving money
I am an industrial maintenance technician so this hobby is right up my tinkering alley. Lol I am also thrifty! I made my own ATO system and it works, but keeps flipping my breaker because I live in an older apartment complex and I think they daisy chained nearly all the outlets together, so it was overloaded.
510DE420-D579-4C5C-ACCF-BCF6CD2A913A.jpeg

OP
OP
Strawberry

Strawberry

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Nice tank! I am always tinkering with something hobby-related. This is all a work in progress, and I think I would be a little sad if all I had to do was sit back and look at the tank.
Exactly! I love trying to improve things. Lol today I nearly gave myself a heart attack when I pulled my protein skimmer out of the first chamber and dropped in a media bag full of porous pebbles to increase my surface area. I didn’t turn off my return pump and the displacement of removing the skimmer while I was making adjustments made it seem like the back of the AIO was going to overflow!

foxt

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%