First clam dead in 2 days

h4wk

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi all, I was extremely happy to get my first clam 2 days ago but it looks like after a bit more than 24 hours it started gaping and I'm pretty sure it's no more.
It really bothers me because it's something I wanted ever since I started the hobby a year and half ago and I had the patience to wait, to get the good lights, the good parameters. Everything else I have has been growing fast and seem to be healthy.

All I can think of is that I saw the long spinned sea urchin passing by it and then a couple of hours later the gaping started. From what I could research that is unlikely to be the cause.

So what did I miss? Please make me wiser

5cm Maxima
20190620_105942.jpeg
20190620_125005.jpeg
20190620_154135.jpeg
20190620_154313.jpeg
20190620_195430.jpeg
20190621_225433.jpeg
20190622_074749.jpeg

Huff747

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
1   0   0
I’m not an expert but I don’t see any new growth on the shell so it may have been starving for a while and perhaps the stress of the move was too much? Where did you get the clam from? Was it shipped or local? What kind of lights? I doubt the urchin was an issue, I’ve seen my tuxedo urchins take a direct line over my clam before to wherever they were going without issue.

Gareth elliott

Read, Tinker, Fail, Learn
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I am also not a clam expert.

Was the foot healthy on arrival?
How was it acclimated?

Skynyrd Fish

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I have kept clams for years. That clam was not in good shape when you received it. There is no white new growth on the shell. Next clam you need to see a strong reaction to light change and look for the white new shell growth ring. I would also not try another clam for a while Incase that on had an infection or a parasite. Your tank is looking good. I’m digging the rock structure.

OP