First time quarantiner -Copperband

HockeyRooster

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I have long wanted to add a copperband to my tank. Love the look of this fish and am hoping it will eat some aptasia.
I have never done a quarantine tank before but I have enough extra gear to put one together so I thought I better set it up for a copperband!
Tip: clean and set up your QT BEFORE you buy a fish.
I put live rock in because this will be unmedicated and there are pods, aptasia and a few zoas on the rock (I don’t want it to eat the zoas but I’d rather that than the fish die). I check it a few times daily and it’s been eating.

I would like to get help on one item-lighting. I don’t have a light directly on the tank but my phyto light is right beside it. The concern with the phyto light is that it is on for 16 hours a day. Is that too much light? I block the light so the tank doesn’t get any direct light for a few hours in the morning and evening (removing the cardboard I’m using to block the light for the middle part of the day). Does the tank need to be dark for more than 8 hours each day or is what I’m doing ok?

9DFE4FC1-3D17-4C98-9748-DE629FFF0731.jpeg

ReefHog

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I would think it would be fine blocking the direct light for the few hours. I’d also work on getting him to eat frozen foods like clam slices and mysis or LRS.

OP
OP
H

HockeyRooster

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I would think it would be fine blocking the direct light for the few hours. I’d also work on getting him to eat frozen foods like clam slices and mysis or LRS.
Thanks for the answer on the light.

he’s been in there in there since Saturday and ate a bit of brine shrimp that night. He ate a bit of Mysis and blood worm yesterday so things are going good. I bought some of those half shell clams when I got him and will put one in the tank tonight.

ReefHog

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0