Foxface needs to put on weight

Fin-up reefing

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I recently bought a magnificent foxface from my lfs for $29.. I couldn’t pass up that opportunity! But he’s a little skinny and I worry he may have internal parasites or it could be because he’s still a juvenile. Any tips on what would be the best diet for him? And if it’s internal parasites what should I do to fix that?

Mal11224

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Greta price for a foxface. I have one and it is very hardy. Seaweed is what they love. Also, they are decent algae eaters, similar to tangs.
Best thing to do is quarantine if you can. I would not add a fish to a display tank if you suspect parasites. I’m no expert in this department. But there are many people who are. This may help.

https://www.reef2reef.com/threads/fish-and-treatment-guidelines-with-chart.283450/

Humblefish

Dr. Fish
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Have you seen any white stringy poo come out of him? Does his stomach look pinched?

OP
OP
Fin-up reefing

Fin-up reefing

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Have you seen any white stringy poo come out of him? Does his stomach look pinched?

I do not see any white stringy poo, and no it doesn’t look pinched he’s just really skinny.. I can see his bones. He’s been at the LFS for a few months though and I know they treated his system with copper when they got him.

OP
OP
Fin-up reefing

Fin-up reefing

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0

Humblefish

Dr. Fish
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I do not see any white stringy poo, and no it doesn’t look pinched he’s just really skinny.. I can see his bones. He’s been at the LFS for a few months though and I know they treated his system with copper when they got him.

Maybe its just a case of malnutrition? I would be feeding him lots & lots of nori.

ca1ore

10K Club member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%