Guidance on Haddoni Nem

NicH.

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello all,

Looking for some general guidance with new additions. I have some experience with anemones in the past but first time with Haddoni Anemones. Received two very healthy specimens yesterday. Went to the wholesaler and saw both of them prior to purchasing. I have treated gigs in the past but seem to be getting some conflicting info regarding what to look out for with Haddoni.

Both came in looking generally good. The larger of the two had a tightly closed mouth while the smaller was moderately gaping. I’ve read that a gaping mouth alone does not necessarily indicate infection but on its own could simply be indicative of stress from shipping.

Today is the second day. Both have had moderate to large gaping mouths for a majority of the day. They have not deflated since arriving yesterday, have both maintained their shape, no weird looking waste and actively respond to touch. At this point, my inclination is to leave them be for another few days and barring any other symptoms, allow them to acclimate further. Does this sound like the proper path to take for now?

IMG_3741.jpeg IMG_3744.jpeg IMG_3729.jpeg IMG_3743.jpeg

garygb

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Nice haddonies! I would do the same as your inclination. Give them some time to settle in. I'm sure you already know that species does like to dig into a deep sand bed. Being able to dig in might facilitate the acclimation process. I would just provide good water parameters (sg 1.026-1.027, ~80F, low nitrate, moderate water circulation) along with good light and a deep sand bed and keep an eye on them.

OP
OP
NicH.

NicH.

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I appreciate it! Like I said I tried my hands recently with two small gigs. Immediately went into QT and started treatment. Not at all a fun or easy process and I ended up only being partially successful.