Hello from the Bahamas

Island Reef 242

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello to everyone around the world on this amazing sight. I have been lurking around here for about 2 months and decided to finally introduce myself.

A brief history. I have been keeping fish off an on for about 30 years. When I was around 8 years old I decided to keep a small fish that I had caught, in a empty one gallon paint bucket. The next morning it died, and I learned my first lesson on keeping fish. You need some sort of aeration or gas exchange for a fish to breathe, What! Fish can breath underwater! The following Christmas I got a 10g fresh water tank with black mollies and swordtails. It was fun watching them grow and have babies, but it was not long until I turned it into saltwater. During high school I kept everything from Angels to Octopi, basically whatever I could catch.

rr1.jpg

My backyard.

There were only a few of us keeping saltwater tanks at the time. For equipment all I had was a Aqua Clear HOB filter, heater (to compensate for our AC rooms), and a hydrometer. I always used live sand and rock and would rarely do a water change. Testing, for PH and Ammonia, was even rarer. If a fish looked stressed or sick, a simple water change and/or removing whatever might be dying on a rock would do the trick. Once we could get a fish to eat (flake food) they would live until they jumped out, got eaten, or died from a long power outage. The only time I can remember having a tank crash, during the early days, was when a Hurricane left us with out power for two weeks. I was mostly into fish and live rocks, it was cool to see all the things living on and in the rocks. Coral was hard to keep unless you had really good lights.

rr3.jpg

A juvenile french Angel fish, 100 feet off shore.