Hello Reefers - newbie here

revhtree

Owner Administrator
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
1   0   0
Welcome to your new home for saltwater reef aquarium resources and fun! Welcome to the family! :D
welcome-home-logo-greeting-png.1484246

OP
OP
BonsaiDave

BonsaiDave

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Took the plunge. Ordered my IM Lagoon 25 tonight + a heater. Also picked up an RO/DI from the marine depot liquidation (thanks flyfisher2). Now just need some rock - any preferred vendors? Otherwise I’ll see what some LFS’s have.

edit*:I guess salt mix too if there are any that are better than others

Fish Think Pink

5000 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi guys - found the forum when researching the hobby and deciding on when and how to make the jump. Fascinated with it so far.

Right now the general thought is to start with an AIO. Was looking at the IM 25. I don’t have a ton of space but want the tank to be big enough to keep me happy for a couple of years until I purchase a bigger house. Thought I’d start FOWLR, I’d like to start with a couple of clowns and find some complimentary species, some cleaners, etc then start to foray into soft corals and maybe eventually down the line some sps. I find the idea of corals to be fascinating, but I have no problem going slow to get there, though.

I guess no real questions at the moment, other than what is a “must” to start out outside of the included components with the AIO. Sounds like a heater is a good idea, then add more as I venture past FOWLR? Also - I know there is a lot of conflicting info out there but does the IM 25 seem like a reasonable choice for my plan?

TIA guys, nice to meet everyone.

p.s.: if anyone in the Chicago burbs or Chicago, can I get the IM 25 local anywhere that you know of? May just order online but would prefer to support local biz if possible
Welcome!

Glad you joined

Fish Think Pink

5000 Club Member
View Badges