• For a Limited Time the R2R Partner Membership is NOW OPEN! Get some cool swag and chances to win part of over $20,000 in prizes! Click here for more details

Help with red sea nitrate test

https://www.triton.de/en/

LxHowler

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Feb 2, 2020
Messages
188
Reaction score
172
Location
Midlands, England
So I have been using a API nitrate test since I first started my tank, it has seemed pretty reliable but it has just run out so I thought id try the red sea pro test, bought the kit with phosphate aswell.
The issue I'm having is that the API test was saying my nitrates are at 10 but I've just tried the red sea using high range test and it is saying my nitrates are off the chart. Meaning they are over 64 ppm
The issue is I don't know which to believe, my tank appears healthy, none of my sps have browned out, my algae is very little, and everything has nice colour.
Should I write this test kit off or should I be ignoring the API and doing emergency water changes to lower nitrates? Anyone experience this before
 
OP
LxHowler

LxHowler

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Feb 2, 2020
Messages
188
Reaction score
172
Location
Midlands, England
Update, just tested against 0 tds to water. Same result.
About to get some bottled distilled water to test against and then contact red sea if the same result
 

Mark Nicoletti

Community Member
View Badges
Joined
Jun 23, 2018
Messages
31
Reaction score
15
Location
Pasadena
I’ve been having same problem. No matter what I was reading >64. So I purchased a different kit and it tested at 3. I have a 3rd kit coming today. I think Red Sea May have a bad batch.
 

Cwentz758

Do you even Reef bro?
View Badges
Joined
Dec 18, 2019
Messages
836
Reaction score
596
Location
Pittsburgh, PA
Hmmm are you waiting the 9 minutes before reading? And looking directly down the test tube? I’m just saying looking at the tube from the side always looks like it’s over the max reading.
 

jccaclimber

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
May 25, 2018
Messages
261
Reaction score
179
Location
San Francisco, CA
Does that test require diluting the sample water? Are you?
When you say you tested with a different kit, do you mean another brand, or another instance of the same Red Sea kit?
 

Mark Nicoletti

Community Member
View Badges
Joined
Jun 23, 2018
Messages
31
Reaction score
15
Location
Pasadena
Yes. I dilute according to the instructions. I tested numerous times with the Red Sea. They I purchased a NYOS and a Salifert kit to compare. Red Sea was >64 every time. NYOS and Salifert were both in the 3 range.

I have a call in to RedSea. I’m thinking it may be a bad batch of reagents.
 
https://www.triton.de/en/

How many corals do you have in your reef tank?

  • 1 - 5

    Votes: 112 9.8%
  • 6 - 10

    Votes: 152 13.3%
  • 11 - 20

    Votes: 248 21.7%
  • 21 - 30

    Votes: 178 15.6%
  • 31 - 50

    Votes: 178 15.6%
  • 51 - 75

    Votes: 101 8.8%
  • 76 - 100

    Votes: 61 5.3%
  • 100+

    Votes: 113 9.9%

Online statistics

Members online
1,525
Guests online
3,479
Total visitors
5,004
A Reef Creation
Top