High nitrates and Green Hair Algae

Uzair Aiman

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi. i think most of you guys have seen a post like this before. Right now I have a green hair algae outbreak. I’ve been trying to manually remove them while doing water changes weekly.
my tank is around one year old, I’ve got a torch coral, a BTA, GSP, Yuma, and a Zoanthid in the tank. A clown pair and also a hermit crab.
after testing my water the other day, my nitrates seem to be at around 50ppm,whereas my phosphates were low at around 0.1.
I suspect that this green hair algae outbreak is caused by the excess nitrates in the tank.
I want to ask for some solutions to lower and stabilise this nitrate back safely, since I am still a beginner and budget is a bit tight, a reactor is quite challenging for me. I’ve read of carbon dosing with Red Sea NOPOX. Is my tank still considered new and still hasn’t matured yet that the biologal filtration of the bacteria is still low? Should I wait abit longer and not tinker on anything? Or do I need to take action to lower it? If so, what are the best things to do to lower nitrates and maintain the levels at a more safe magnitude? My corals seem to be fine except for my anemone. It’s been doing badly.

OP
OP
Uzair Aiman

Uzair Aiman

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Also, I have a bubble magus protein skimmer in my back compartment (It’s and AIO Tank), which seems to be going crazy and not skimming really well. And also, my green star polyps has lost its green for some reason, not sure if it’s the nitrates or the algae but, the polyps do extend, just everything is purple haha

Duffer

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Most likely you are getting a false reading on your phosphates. They are being consumed by the algae and probably are much higher. Try to lower after you manually remove as much as possible and an urchin will help a lot

Mr. Mojo Rising

5000 Club Member
View Badges