High Salinity but algae still develop

JosephNg

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi everyone, I'm totally new to this and I have my tank (46 gal) in its 2nd week of water cycle. My salinity measure was 1127 2 weeks ago and now it reaches 1131. However, the algae is still growing according to the instructions/guide I read. Is it necessary to lower the salinity and how should I do it?
Many thanks!

Deep

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Has your salinity increased from 1.027 Sg to 1.031 sg ?
Have you been topping up with RO/DI water to compensate for evaporation ?

Azedenkae

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi everyone, I'm totally new to this and I have my tank (46 gal) in its 2nd week of water cycle. My salinity measure was 1127 2 weeks ago and now it reaches 1131. However, the algae is still growing according to the instructions/guide I read. Is it necessary to lower the salinity and how should I do it?
Many thanks!
Hi, question - how are you measuring salinity and what units are you measuring salinity in?

vetteguy53081

Well known Member and monster tank lover
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
13   0   0
Gradually add to water and bring it down . If no livestock, pull a bucket of water out and replace with non seawater. Turn off lights for a few days

Chefwheredyougo

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Yes, you should be topping off with RO/RODI water to keep your salinity stable, around .025-.027 the algae will grow in the tank, it's all part of starting a new tank. As vetteguy said, turn the lights off and it'll help.

OP
OP
JosephNg

JosephNg

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Has your salinity increased from 1.027 Sg to 1.031 sg ?
Have you been topping up with RO/DI water to compensate for evaporation ?
yes it has raised from 1.027 Sg to 1.031 Sg in 2 weeks and I top up the tank daily with 2-3L of RODI

OP
OP