Discussion in 'Do It Yourself (DIY)' started by skinz78, Feb 8, 2011.

How to wire a GFCI outlet

  1. Young Frankenstein

    Young Frankenstein I sniff ozone and relax. R2R Excellence Award

    Joined:
    May 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,150
    Likes Received:
    44
    Location:
    South Miami
    A good quality GFI would be more reliable, you get what you pay for ..... Myself I dont use them in my main circulation pump, its a risk I am willingto take.
     

  2. cba191

    cba191 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    salt lake city
  3. Young Frankenstein

    Young Frankenstein I sniff ozone and relax. R2R Excellence Award

    Joined:
    May 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,150
    Likes Received:
    44
    Location:
    South Miami
  4. cba191

    cba191 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    salt lake city
    I'm not too sure how the owner of my apartment complex would view messing with the electrical.
     
  5. skinz78

    skinz78 Moderator Staff Member Team R2R R2R Supporter R2R Excellence Award

    Joined:
    May 8, 2009
    Messages:
    21,867
    Likes Received:
    211
    Location:
    lovely rainy NW Washington
    That is a simple surge protector, no GFI protection. They do make them though, and yes if it is GFI protected I would use it.

    Sent from my C771 using Tapatalk 2
     
  6. Reef Breeders

    Reef Breeders The LED Guy R2R Supporter Gold Sponsor Toys For Kids 2016

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3,712
    Likes Received:
    99
    Location:
    Shelton CT
    GFI outlets are like 5 bucks, turn off your power and follow the guide in this thread.
     
  7. Young Frankenstein

    Young Frankenstein I sniff ozone and relax. R2R Excellence Award

    Joined:
    May 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,150
    Likes Received:
    44
    Location:
    South Miami
    We had a tremendus amount of problems with defective cheap GFIs at one time, we would never use el cheapo 5bucks GFIs again
     
  8. cba191

    cba191 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    salt lake city
    idk. It says it is a GFCI, but as long as I know I can get something like that, It's good to know.
     
  9. BarbH

    BarbH Well-Known Member R2R Supporter R2R Excellence Award

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012
    Messages:
    2,302
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    Michigan 48843
    cba if unsure about how the manager would be about you installing a gfi you could check with them about it. I installed one in my apartment, actually the boyfriend did most of the work. Because of the safety that it gives if your landlord is allowing you to have a tank I would think that they would be with installing a gfi.

    Sent from my SCH-R720 using Tapatalk 2
     
  10. Reef Breeders

    Reef Breeders The LED Guy R2R Supporter Gold Sponsor Toys For Kids 2016

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3,712
    Likes Received:
    99
    Location:
    Shelton CT
    They have always worked for me, I test each one after install
     
  11. Trevdawg

    Trevdawg Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2012
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    West chicago
    helpful for when i set up my tank within the neext week or 2
     
  12. Passaggper

    Passaggper Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2013
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Indiana
    This is a handy tool to have to ensure proper wiring.
    [​IMG]
     
  13. SeymourDuncan

    SeymourDuncan Well-Known Member R2R Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2012
    Messages:
    2,384
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    Corn, Indiana
    skinz...I hope you have your GFCI degree :D

    Thanks for the thread. I share it will all new reefers and even unenthusiast's who just want a new outlet....in hopes the content of the site will unconsciously stick with them, leading to a future hobbyist.
     
  14. Diamond Dave

    Diamond Dave New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    There are also WR weather resistant outlets available that use metals that hold up better to moist environments. In NC all exterior outlets must be WR.
     
  15. Zacco

    Zacco Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2014
    Messages:
    370
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Being an electrician myself i would suggest buying GFI's rated at 20 amp loads. The 15 amp models have weaker components in them. Also make sure you buy Leviton Smart lock GFI's. Prevents alot of nuisance tripping if you have a lot of noise on your line.
     
    andy71, jason2459 and Thoms_here like this.
  16. slapshot

    slapshot Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Michigan
    Great tips! The only thing I would add is to wrap a piece of electrical tape around the outlet covering the screws. Just a little added protection against something coming in contact with the screws.
     
  17. icsparks

    icsparks Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2013
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    West Virginia
    I had a friend of mine demonstrated how a GFCI will not trip in a condition where there is no path to ground. How is this possible? Ground fault outlets monitor the current on the hot and the neutral wire only, if the GFCI sees a current difference between the two indicating a current leak to ground it will trip. You can stand there all day long on a rubber matt holding the hot in one hand and the neutral in the other and the GFCI will not trip because the incoming and outgoing current would be the same. Your body could be a light bulb for all it cares. But the moment you touch a grounded object it will trip. Most people get shocked because their body provided a path to ground for current to flow, this is where the GFCI can save a life. Adding a grounding probe in the tank will help provide a path to ground and also help attract stray currents often found in aquariums produced by faulty equipment. That stray current will go through the probe and not your body and if you have a GFCI on the tank it should trip and keep you safe. Always make sure you have a good grounded circuit going to your tank. Remember that the GFCI looks for leaks to ground. Without a good system ground the GFCI will not protect your equipment or you.
     
    andy71 and Thoms_here like this.
  18. Spendley

    Spendley Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2013
    Messages:
    198
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Maryland
    Skinz,

    In the process of redoing basement, while electrician was here I asked him to replace my 'fish tank outlet' with a GCFI. Upon installation, it did not work. He said this was because the other outlet (room across the hall) was GCFI.

    Does this mean that my 'fish tank outlet' is downstream for a GCFI and thus acts like one accordingly?

    Thanks,
     
  19. skinz78

    skinz78 Moderator Staff Member Team R2R R2R Supporter R2R Excellence Award

    Joined:
    May 8, 2009
    Messages:
    21,867
    Likes Received:
    211
    Location:
    lovely rainy NW Washington
    It should be, did you ask him?
     
  20. Spendley

    Spendley Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2013
    Messages:
    198
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Maryland
    Not point blank no, pretty much just got the "it doesn't work because that outlet is one" response and didn't want to sound like an idiot. I do recall him saying it should work as one but I wasn't exactly clear how so that combined with this post makes me feel like it is downstream and will act as one.

    Thanks
     
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page

Loading...