How toxic are frogspawn and zoa corals?

leotigris

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I’m new to the hobby and my tanks been running for about a month. It might be too early to start thinking about corals but thought I’d do the research.

I have a pair of clowns and looking for something that may host them, anemones seem require more experience in the hobby so I’m looking at frog spawn. I know that there’s no guarantee for hosting but have read stores of frog spawn hosting clowns.

I’d also like some zoas for the colour. However I’ve read that both of these are toxic and read some horror stories about people’s hands swelling and accidentally getting some in the eye… ouch.

I have the Fluval 123l Marine and appreciate that the stock lighting is only suitable for easy to care for corals.

How toxic are these corals and are there any very low toxic options in either of these?

Alternatively I’m looking at macro algae for some colour. Red Grape Botryocladia and Dragons Breath look good.

I really like the look of the Dragons Breath but I can’t find any sellers in the UK.

BradB

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Get a bubble tip anemone, especially if you can find a split from a local hobbyist. They aren't that difficult, I have a bunch and I can't keep frogspawn, although I suspect my Angelfish eats it.

You are opening a can of worms with zooanthid toxicity questions. Palytoxin is one of the most toxic substances, although I question the practical dangers. Many mysterious deaths of people, dogs and others have been blamed on zooanthids, usually with insufficient evidence.

flyfisher2

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0