Hydros or neptune

Tactical Reefkeeping

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
So I have to go up to Puerto Rico and right now all I have on my tank is a INKBIRD camera and that it and it is only a 30 display with a sump and I am trying to find what is the best bag for buck. Thanks

dangles

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
2   0   0
Oh man get ready for some strong opinions! Lol. Ignore anybody who sounds like they have an axe to grind ;)

I use Neptune. I like it, but it’s not perfect. Nothing is. And arguably it’s lower quality than it used to be. I have only had a couple of issues (network related) and Neptune support was really good.

I have no experience with Hydros but it seems like those who have it like it.

Whichever you go with, do the research well in advance to know what kinds of issues you MIGHT have with either platform, and account for that in your system design.

Also, set it up WELL in advance so you can get to know the system and work out any kinks.

Reefing102

Metal Halides Til The End
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
As mentioned, there are likely strong opinions coming. Me personally, I use an Apex but that’s just what came with the tank and it works for my needs. Ive also seen Apex used at public aquariums (Virginia Aquarium). I’ve also seen the hydros interface and I like the look better but for me if it ain’t broke, don’t fix it, so I’m sticking with my Apex. At the same time, for me, I could probably get by without a controller and still be satisfied. As reccomended, definitely do research on what you think will work best for you or what “features” come with each package

dangles

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
2   0   0
Oh man get ready for some strong opinions! Lol. Ignore anybody who sounds like they have an axe to grind ;)