Ideal Copper levels using coppersafe?

TheWackyWiz

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi All,

This is my first time using copper as part of the quarantine (learned my lesson when a pair of clownfish brought in velvet). I've been digging through threads on what the ideal therapeutic level I should aim for in my QT tank and I am still confused ;Cyclops!

I've got a 10g QT set up that currently has small chalk bass and a small two spot goby in it. They've been doing fine for about a week and so far haven't exhibit any symptoms for the main diseases. Yesterday my Hanna copper checker arrived so I attempted to use coppersafe for the first time.

Baseline level: 0.00ppm
After adding 12.5ml (5ml of coppersafe/4g per instructions): 2.30ppm

I should note that the only behavioral change I've seen is the chalk bass may be breathing slightly faster than yesterday.

Is 2.30ppm too high? If so, do I just do a partial water change until I get down to 2.00ppm?

Thanks!

vetteguy53081

Well known Member and monster tank lover
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
13   0   0
2.3 is high and I always recommend 1.75 to assure treatment effective as well as no effect on bacteria and oxygen

Upvote 0

Jay Hemdal

10K Club member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi All,

This is my first time using copper as part of the quarantine (learned my lesson when a pair of clownfish brought in velvet). I've been digging through threads on what the ideal therapeutic level I should aim for in my QT tank and I am still confused ;Cyclops!

I've got a 10g QT set up that currently has small chalk bass and a small two spot goby in it. They've been doing fine for about a week and so far haven't exhibit any symptoms for the main diseases. Yesterday my Hanna copper checker arrived so I attempted to use coppersafe for the first time.

Baseline level: 0.00ppm
After adding 12.5ml (5ml of coppersafe/4g per instructions): 2.30ppm