Is a Nero 3 suitable for my 20G tank?

AI Nero 5

yanni

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Feb 7, 2021
Messages
144
Reaction score
133
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Australia
Hey all,

I just purchased a Red Sea Max Nano, it’s a 20g AIO cube. The display is roughly 62L/16.5Gallon.

I’ve finally decided on my powerhead, and decided to go a Nero 3. From what I’ve found, most people run a Nero on a tank my size at roughly anywhere from 2%-20% capacity.

Just would like to check, is a Nero 3 suitable for my tank, or will it be overkill? Not sure if running it super low for long times could cause damage to the motor perhaps?
 
Aquarium Specialty - dry goods & marine livestock

jaganshi066

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Jan 20, 2021
Messages
1,113
Reaction score
690
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
los angeles
Hey all,

I just purchased a Red Sea Max Nano, it’s a 20g AIO cube. The display is roughly 62L/16.5Gallon.

I’ve finally decided on my powerhead, and decided to go a Nero 3. From what I’ve found, most people run a Nero on a tank my size at roughly anywhere from 2%-20% capacity.

Just would like to check, is a Nero 3 suitable for my tank, or will it be overkill? Not sure if running it super low for long times could cause damage to the motor perhaps?
I think the Nero 3 will work! I have a Nero 5 on my 30gallo. And it’s so strong
 
Top Shelf Aquatics

MartinM

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Jan 26, 2021
Messages
309
Reaction score
275
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Japan
I like my Nero 3 on my Red Sea 200. I like that you can specify the pulse time (something the MP10, et al is sorely missing, which I don’t understand, seeing as they have the same parent company…). It’ll be fine for your tank with the right setting.
 

coralfishreef

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Mar 30, 2021
Messages
343
Reaction score
938
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
MA
How do you like it? I keep my settings really low like 15%, my tanks the innovative marine one
I like the Nero 5s. I have 5 of them in 3 different tanks. A pair of Nero 3s in the IM30 would probably be better but the single 5 works fine.

The Nero 5 runs at 30% random during the day and at 45% pulse at night. The tank is completely silent during the day.

A4415050-1114-47DF-9B84-0209544A605D.jpeg
 

jaganshi066

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Jan 20, 2021
Messages
1,113
Reaction score
690
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
los angeles
I like the Nero 5s. I have 5 of them in 3 different tanks. A pair of Nero 3s in the IM30 would probably be better but the single 5 works fine.

I have the Nero 5 running at 30% random during the day and at 45% pulse at night. The tank is completely silent during the day.

A4415050-1114-47DF-9B84-0209544A605D.jpeg
I like the neros too I just didn’t expect it to be so strong. I have three Nero 5s on my tanks. Alga do you tried any of the mp series, any comparisons?
 

coralfishreef

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Mar 30, 2021
Messages
343
Reaction score
938
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
MA
There are MP10s and MP40s in my other tanks. The Nero 5 is in between a MP10 and a MP40 on paper and in the tank. Nero 5 flow is wide like a MP40 but not as strong. The MP10s have a narrower flow stream and can be turned down quite low. I had a MP10 on an 8 gal cube before.

Manufacturer flow ratings
MP10, 200 - 1500 gph
MP40, 4500+ gph
Nero 3, max 2000 gph
Nero 5, max 3000 gph

Nero 5 flow rating in the app
954 @ 1%
1563 @ 30%
3034 @ 100%
 
Aquarium Specialty - dry goods & marine livestock

stylolvr

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Sep 24, 2020
Messages
283
Reaction score
652
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Florida
My daughter has a Nero 3 in her WB 20 Cube. Works great, but we are running at very low flow because otherwise we'd blow the glass apart
+1 I've got a Nero3 on my WB 20 cube as well and I run the random setting during the day 1-35%, then 10% for most of the night, and a 40% blow for an hour in the early morning to dust off the schmutz. You'll love it, and it is super user friendly!
 

zoaprince

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Jul 20, 2020
Messages
357
Reaction score
461
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
CA
Lots of people use it on 20 gallons. Just keep in mind, even though the UI says 1%, the real output is something like 30% of the max GPH.
 
AI Hydra

PICK the Most Tested & Least Tested Parameters of your Tank (Pick 2)

  • Calcium (most)

    Votes: 24 6.6%
  • Alkalinity (most)

    Votes: 260 71.2%
  • Magnesium (most)

    Votes: 3 0.8%
  • Phosphate (most)

    Votes: 24 6.6%
  • PH (most)

    Votes: 38 10.4%
  • Nitrate (most)

    Votes: 35 9.6%
  • Nitrite (most)

    Votes: 1 0.3%
  • Ammonia (most)

    Votes: 8 2.2%
  • (least) Calcium

    Votes: 6 1.6%
  • (least) Alkalinity

    Votes: 2 0.5%
  • (least) Magnesium

    Votes: 28 7.7%
  • (least) Phosphate

    Votes: 4 1.1%
  • (least) PH

    Votes: 13 3.6%
  • (least) Nitrate

    Votes: 3 0.8%
  • (least) Nitrite

    Votes: 110 30.1%
  • (least) Ammonia

    Votes: 151 41.4%
Visit RiptideAquaculture.com Use promo code: R2R
Top