Is ammonia necessary?

evieytes

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I’m new to saltwater tanks and this is my first post. I have almost finished my cycle and I haven’t bought any fish yet. Since I would have to quarantine them for a couple of weeks, I was wondering if I have to dose with ammonia until a few days before i add my first fish? Any advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks, Eduardo

Garf

5000 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I’m new to saltwater tanks and this is my first post. I have almost finished my cycle and I haven’t bought any fish yet. Since I would have to quarantine them for a couple of weeks, I was wondering if I have to dose with ammonia until a few days before i add my first fish? Any advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks, Eduardo
Welcome. I’d just add a pinch or two of flake food a couple of times a weak to strengthen the cycle and start up the bacteria that process real fish waste, not just ammonia. Probably no real need to do this but hey, it’s cheap simulated fish feeding.

jda

10K Club member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Your nitrifying bacteria can die back without ammonia/ammonium, but it takes more than a few days and they also multiply pretty quickly.

BTW - do not think that your tank is cycled, as in done-done. You have the capacity to handle some fish waste, not to fully complete the nitrogen cycle nor to likely handle a dynamic event like a huge influx of food, fish or an accident or something. You still need to go slow as things develop and the tank takes steps to be truly, fully cycled which can take many months. Every day that you go along, the tank does get stronger, but you still need to be smart and go slow.

OP
OP
E

evieytes

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0