Is my tank overstocked?

Ramiro Casal

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
So I am brand new to saltwater and I’ve had my tank running for around 1 month, It doesn’t have any corals just live rock from my LFS in Florida. As of right now I have :
- Royal Gramma
- 2 clowns they are pretty small maybe 1.5 inches
- A diamond goby
- Recently my friend had to dissemble his tank so I now also have a Hoeven’s wrasse.
Is my tank over stocked? I have a 20 gallon with lots of live rock around 13 pounds. I plan to upgrade to a 50 gallon in around 6-12 months when I move out of my college dorm.

OP
OP
Ramiro Casal

Ramiro Casal

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
This is how my tank looks, caught all fish in the same shot, even the goby.

DOONfunWAAAx8k1.jpg

TravelChaser

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
1 month is still pretty new, but you should be ok. I wouldn't add anymore and I'd also stay on top of my parameters and water changes until the tank becomes a bit more established.

nautical_nathaniel

Indecision may or may not be my problem.
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Everything but the wrasse and maybe the diamond goby are appropriate for that tank, as long as your bio-filter can handle all of the fish you should be fine until you upgrade in size, I wouldn't wait too long though. Make sure you test often and establish a water change schedule, with a HOB filter you're going to need to do weekly water changes and filter media changes.

Yuki Rihwa

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Pay attention to your water parameter and keep up with your maintenance schedule and feeding, you will likely getting mini cycle if you tank really true 1 month old. Also, look at your picture I don't think you have enough water turn over in your tank.

OP
OP
Ramiro Casal

Ramiro Casal

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0