JBs 120 gallon tank trials

Seminoles76

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hey everyone, finally got a bit of spare time so I decided to give a build thread a go.

I’ve been reefing for about 12 years now. I am currently serving my last year in the Navy as I close in on a 20 year career. I have been fortunate to be able to set up a lot of tanks over the course of my 12 years in reefing, as my career in the Navy dictated a move every 18 to 24 months. I have been unfortunate in that I have never been able to really enjoy a mature reef.

Every tank that I set up was the same typical setup in that I utilized actual live rock, T5 lighting, live sand, and Vortech MPs for flow. Most tanks were SPS only tanks. Every tank I had flourished for its short life until it was time to break it down after 18 months after receiving orders to a new duty station. Pack the family up, move to new location, set up new tank, rinse and repeat every couple years.

So, with retirement from the Navy looming, the ability to set up a reef that could actually become a mature reef was in the near future. With that in mind, and after watching some BRS videos, I decided to make my final tank before retirement a tank trial of my own. I knew after twelve years that actual live rock, T5, Vortechs, and stable parameters would result in a reef that flourished. I wanted to know about these other reefing methods and gain some first hand insight and experience in utilizing them. Maybe they were better than what I had come to know about reefing which was live rock and T5.

After some thought, I settled on a 120 standard that would be started with all dry Pukani rock and would be bare bottom. Instead of T5 lighting, I went with three Hydra 52hds. Instead of MPs for flow, I went with Maxspect Gyre 250s. I also decided to give Triton a go and would do away with those dreaded water changes.