Kasa Smart Wi-Fi Power Strip

SMSREEF

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
May 27, 2016
Messages
1,781
Reaction score
3,423
Location
Miami
I dont believe they have this option your looking for.
The Kasa do have this option. I use the timer all the time when I feed.
74AE63A3-AF0D-44DE-97FE-53BB551A7C56.png
 
The Best reef aquarium LED lighting

SMSREEF

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
May 27, 2016
Messages
1,781
Reaction score
3,423
Location
Miami
Just a little info on how I use my Kasa App, powerstrips and smartplugs. Had them almost a year now. Power goes out all the time at my house so I made sure to test what dosing pump would do if it’s on and power goes out till after the “off” is scheduled. Power comes back on and it is “off”. Test this yourself if you get any WiFi power strip or doser including Kasa.

10 gallon nano
1. Return pump-to turn power off when I do water change and use timer when I feed my corals) Also have programmed for “On” every 3 hours, just in case I forget to set the timer;)
2. Schedule my BRS dosing pump for All for Reef.
3. Schedule my top off water which keeps up with evaporation (don’t need ATO by doing this). I used to dose Kalk and this was easily scheduled for multiple doses over night with my BRS dosing pump.
4. Powerhead. Schedule this to come on and off multiple times a day.

60 gallon. (About 10 months)
1. Refugium light schedule
2. First powerhead schedule
3. Second powerhead schedule
4. Lights under stand
5. Protein skinner schedule for only night
6. Dosing pump for All for reef
Smart Plug 1
1. My return pump and ATO plugged into this with splitter so when I turn off return, the ATO doesn’t drive me nuts with the beeping.

Quarantine
smartplug 2
1. HOB Filter and powerhead to turn off or use timer.
Smartplug 3
1. LED schedule
 

jnvd3b

Community Member
View Badges
Joined
Dec 21, 2017
Messages
85
Reaction score
84
Does anyone know why the app only works when off of wifi? Or maybe it is just me? On wifi the on/off toggle as well as clicking in to power usage etc doesn’t work. Turn wifi on my phone off and it works immediately.
 

SMSREEF

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
May 27, 2016
Messages
1,781
Reaction score
3,423
Location
Miami
If it’s Kasa, it should be working with wifi. I never use this, but just checked my fuge light energy consumption while on WiFi.
6E04FD66-0175-4494-B87F-A2CC30994F8B.png
 

Fakegolfnews

Well-Known Member
View Badges
Joined
Jan 1, 2019
Messages
734
Reaction score
688
Does this have all the same features? Can i run a splitter off this to run 2 devises to one of these plugs? I needs 4 outlets but dont need them to all run independently.
 

SMSREEF

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
May 27, 2016
Messages
1,781
Reaction score
3,423
Location
Miami
Does this have all the same features? Can i run a splitter off this to run 2 devises to one of these plugs? I needs 4 outlets but dont need them to all run independently.
Yes. You would just use splitter so one outlet runs 2 pumps or 2 lights.
However Black Friday is coming up and I got my 6 plug power strip for $55 then. It may be worth it to wait and have 3 extra plugs in case you want to expand.
 

Obsessed

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Sep 14, 2009
Messages
226
Reaction score
43
Location
CA
On the Kasa strip has anyone tested what happens when the internet goes out? Wanting to make sure it will keep the set schedule.
 

Beau_B

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Jun 29, 2019
Messages
336
Reaction score
260
I don’t have Kasa, but both my Amazon and the Gosund plugs do not change operations if the internet is out. They keep whatever setting it was on, and in my case since I’m using the Alexa app with routines, even when the internet comes back, it doesn’t “correct” the settings. Have to manually do it or wait until the next scheduled event takes place. Most of what I have running is always/default on so it hasn’t caused any issues.
 
Shop Online with Zoanthids.com!

DaddyFish

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
May 6, 2020
Messages
350
Reaction score
440
Location
Dallas NC
On the Kasa strip has anyone tested what happens when the internet goes out? Wanting to make sure it will keep the set schedule.
Yes, I have done extensive testing with the Kasa Power Strips, both the 6-outlet and the 3-outlet version.

When you lose Internet, BUT NOT WiFi, you can still access the strip using the phone app, provided your phone/device is on the same WiFi network. If you are running multiple WiFi bandwidths (2.4, 5.0, 5.0 dual etc.) you must make sure your phone/device is attached to the 2.4 network.

If you lose WiFi (and therefore Internet access), you can only control the Kasa strip through the manual On/Off buttons on the strip itself.

In all cases of WiFi or Internet loss, the strip will maintain it's schedule. The schedule is stored on the strip itself.
 

How's your tank currently looking?

  • Never better

    Votes: 48 14.7%
  • Pretty good

    Votes: 144 44.0%
  • Just OK

    Votes: 74 22.6%
  • Not great

    Votes: 33 10.1%
  • Prett Bad

    Votes: 11 3.4%
  • Yuck

    Votes: 8 2.4%
  • Other (please explain)

    Votes: 9 2.8%

Online statistics

Members online
1,256
Guests online
3,695
Total visitors
4,951
Triton Marine Aquaculture
Top