KP Aquatics Live Rock - Question

VermontReefs

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Couple Questions For Experienced LIVE ROCK Reefers:

Should I purchase 80-100lbs of KP Aquatics Premium Live Rock Shipped in Water ONE month ahead of my tank being ready for rock? Is it worth patrolling for critters/cycling ahead of placing the rock in my Cade? Is there any advantage or disadvantage to this methodology with this particular Aquacultured rock? I've been reefing on an off for 15 years and my last setup was using Manado/Tonga/Fiji etc. We used to buy the rock in advance, cure and monitor before placing it in the main tank. I understand in-tank cycling is beneficial and I'm all onboard with cycling the tank straight away once everything is ready but I figured I'd ask. Your advice & direction is welcome. Those of whom have never run actual live rock need not apply. Thanks so much! Happy Reefing

My Setup:
Tank:
Cade 1200 S2 ( Thanks AlgaeBarn)
114g Display
21g Sump
9.2g Gravity Fed ATO

Filtration/Nutrient Export:
Maxspect Aeraqua Duo AD600
Socks - Until Red Sea ReefMat Arrives
Refugium w/ Tunze Eco Chic Light
Aqua UV 57 watt w/ Neptune Cor 20

Flow/Return:
Abyzz A100 DC Return w/ Controller
2 Vortech MP40's
1 Ice Cap 4k Gyre

Lighting/Heat:
2 Radion XR30 G5 Pro's
1 Kessil A360x
700 Watt Innovative Marine Helio PTC Dual Heaters (350x2)
300 Watt BRS Titanium Heater w/ Ink Bird ( Separate Circuits)

Controller/Automation/Electrical:
2 Dedicated 20 Amp AFCI/GFCI Outlets
1 Dedicated 20 Amp NON GFCI Outlet
Hard Wired -Full Neptune Apex/Trident System w/ All The Trinkits & crap. Like Everything.
Neptune Dos (Water Change from Basement)
Red Sea Reef Dose 4 Doser
Ipad Control Panel

Water: Basement Mixing Station
BRS 4 Stage 75gpd R/O System
2 Norwesco 65 Gallon Storage Containers
Vectra M2 for Mixing
Automatic Water Changes run via DOS

Let me know your thoughts! Thanks!

Last edited:

areefer01

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0