• For a Limited Time the R2R Partner Membership is NOW OPEN! Get some cool swag and chances to win part of over $20,000 in prizes! Click here for more details

Let’s talk generators!

Shaka_Reefer

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Dec 15, 2019
Messages
351
Reaction score
606
I’ve been doing a ton of research but there are so many options. This is what I think I need to run both tanks plus essentials for the house.

Can someone help me as to what else I need?

Can I hook up my EB32 directly to the generator? I have three Neptune EB32.

Thanks so much!!
34BD8CD6-05CD-40C1-B14F-A172ACE68B8A.jpeg
 
Last edited:
Aquarium Specialty - dry goods & marine livestock

WIReefer

Taking it day by day
View Badges
Joined
May 10, 2017
Messages
2,630
Reaction score
8,160
Location
Wisconsin
What other Necessary equipment did you purchase for your generator?
Not a thing just the generator and works like a charm. Ran it for 16 hours running two tanks and more.
 
Top Shelf Aquatics

WIReefer

Taking it day by day
View Badges
Joined
May 10, 2017
Messages
2,630
Reaction score
8,160
Location
Wisconsin
I have a Honda 3000is. Runs all of my tanks along with other essentials. Perfect out of the box. Quiet, sips gas.
Mine ran for 9 hours on .9 gallons of gas on eco mode. Gotta love a Honda
 

K7BMG

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Mar 13, 2018
Messages
1,778
Reaction score
1,660
The only thing you need to consider when it comes to generators.
Is this an inverter type?

For electronics it is best to use an inverter type.
Basically line conditioning so your voltage and aperage do not fluctuate or loaded up with harmful harmonics.

Most of the utility generators are for tools or non-electronic equipment.
This is why the Honda EU series of generators are so popular today.

You can add line conditioners but good ones that work are expensive.
 

K7BMG

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Mar 13, 2018
Messages
1,778
Reaction score
1,660
So if I get the inverter generator, what’s a good extension cord to get to connect the Neptune EB32 into one of the generator outlets?
Its all about distance.
I am an electrical Contractor so I know a thing or two about electricity (I hope anyway. lol)

I would purchase nothing less that a 12 gage cord.
If the distance gets past 100 feet then I recommend a 10 gage cord.
Do not use adapters if at all possible, but they are always used lol.
 
OP
Shaka_Reefer

Shaka_Reefer

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Dec 15, 2019
Messages
351
Reaction score
606
Its all about distance.
I am an electrical Contractor so I know a thing or two about electricity (I hope anyway. lol)

I would purchase nothing less that a 12 gage cord.
If the distance gets past 100 feet then I recommend a 10 gage cord.
Do not use adapters if at all possible, but they are always used lol.
Thank you! I’m actually thinking about this one since the tanks are near the front door so I just need 25ft
 

JoshH

Tank Status: Wet...ish, growing things....
View Badges
Joined
Dec 3, 2016
Messages
8,536
Reaction score
29,104
Location
Calgary, Alberta
So if I get the inverter generator, what’s a good extension cord to get to connect the Neptune EB32 into one of the generator outlets?
Its all about distance.
I am an electrical Contractor so I know a thing or two about electricity (I hope anyway. lol)

I would purchase nothing less that a 12 gage cord.
If the distance gets past 100 feet then I recommend a 10 gage cord.
Do not use adapters if at all possible, but they are always used lol.
I would email Neptune directly as I believe they reccomend 10 Guage for any type of extension cord. This topic was brought up just last week and I'm trying to track down the thread
 

BackToTheReef

Well-Known Member
View Badges
Joined
Aug 8, 2020
Messages
670
Reaction score
3,130
Location
Columbus, OH (currently)
Its all about distance.
I am an electrical Contractor so I know a thing or two about electricity (I hope anyway. lol)

I would purchase nothing less that a 12 gage cord.
If the distance gets past 100 feet then I recommend a 10 gage cord.
Do not use adapters if at all possible, but they are always used lol.
Would a critical load panel and transfer switch be a better/safer choice than an extension cord? (Obviously SLIGHTLY more expensive but...)
 

K7BMG

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Mar 13, 2018
Messages
1,778
Reaction score
1,660
I would email Neptune directly as I believe they reccomend 10 Guage for any type of extension cord. This topic was brought up just last week and I'm trying to track down the thread
You have to match the wire size to the overcurrent protection.
If your generators outlet is 120V at 20A and 100 feet or less a 12 gage cord is all that's needed.
If your generators outlet is 120V 30A then yes a 10 gage cored is required at 100 feet or less.

Yes a real backup generator with a critical load panel will be optimal but a lot more expensive.
 

BackToTheReef

Well-Known Member
View Badges
Joined
Aug 8, 2020
Messages
670
Reaction score
3,130
Location
Columbus, OH (currently)

Troyntu

New Member
View Badges
Joined
Sep 13, 2020
Messages
7
Reaction score
24
Location
florida
Would a critical load panel and transfer switch be a better/safer choice than an extension cord? (Obviously SLIGHTLY more expensive but...)
Yes. A transfer switch hooked to the panel and just turn the circuit on for what ever circuit is to the tank. Transfer switches are the right way to hook a generator up to a home. And then you can turn what ever circuit you want on depending on the size on generator.
 

JoshH

Tank Status: Wet...ish, growing things....
View Badges
Joined
Dec 3, 2016
Messages
8,536
Reaction score
29,104
Location
Calgary, Alberta
You have to match the wire size to the overcurrent protection.
If your generators outlet is 120V at 20A and 100 feet or less a 12 gage cord is all that's needed.
If your generators outlet is 120V 30A then yes a 10 gage cored is required at 100 feet or less.
Just reiterating what another member had posted after they spoke directly with Neptune, which is why I said it would be best if the OP spoke with them on the matter directly and see what they reccomended... I agree with you that it's definitely overkill.
 

K7BMG

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Mar 13, 2018
Messages
1,778
Reaction score
1,660
That would work for the situation.
This would need to have a permit to install this type of unit.
It will be mounted next to your existing panel and the critical circuits would have to me moved from that panel into this one permanently.

Not a big deal but added costs of permits and electricians will be required. Unless you have the knowledge to DIY, but the permit will be needed either way.

I always tell customers the same thing.
The level of protection required should be based on your history of power outages and the duration of the outages.
If I lived in a state that now does blackout periods for safety reasons then yes i would go to great lengths.
If I was in rural areas where power restoration was not high priority then again great lengths.
The heart of the city where thousands of homes and businesses where restoration will be high priority, well maybe not so much.
 
Top Shelf Aquatics

How often do you have some type of algae issue?

  • Constantly Something

    Votes: 241 42.8%
  • Every Month

    Votes: 32 5.7%
  • Every Few Months

    Votes: 67 11.9%
  • A Few Times A Year

    Votes: 80 14.2%
  • Once A Year Or So

    Votes: 59 10.5%
  • Every Few years

    Votes: 28 5.0%
  • Never.....(are you lying?)

    Votes: 36 6.4%
  • Other (please explain)

    Votes: 20 3.6%

Online statistics

Members online
2,251
Guests online
5,516
Total visitors
7,767
Top