Looking for advice on building a custom 38g shallow reef (external overflow + sump)

xsnys

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
qb0b06z4s5yb1.png

Hello everyone. I'll try to keep this as short as possible. My apologies in advance if this is the wrong place to post this.

Essentially I plan on using this 47.3x13.8x13.8 rimless aquarium to build a custom reef tank with an external overflow and sump. I'm no stranger to reef tanks but I am brand new to sumps and plumbing so I need a little help and advice. I currently run a Red Sea Max E-170.

Equipment List:
Fiji Cube Fiji-30 Advanced Reef Sump 2nd Gen
Fiji Cube Low Profile External Overflow Box 800GPH
Jabao MDP-5000 (1453gph, Max head: 13ft)
Kessil AP9X (I currently own this light and will be helpful as it provides up to 48" of coverage. I may switch over to two ecotech radion xr15s in the future.)

I was planning on installing my overflow box peninsula style. I've done my own research but I'm unable to come to a conclusion on whether I'm making the right decision on the overflow box, sump and return pump. The plumbing and stand configuration I believe I can figure out fairly easily.

My questions are:
  • Is installing the overflow box peninsula style a good idea?
  • Is the size of the overflow box appropriate for this size tank and pump?
  • What would you do differently on this setup and why?
Any help is appreciated! Thank you so much.

bensoo00

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0