Low Water Pressure. What Booster Pump should I get?

albertski

Active Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Jul 22, 2021
Messages
110
Reaction score
32
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Homer Glen, IL
I purchased the 5 Stage Premium Plus 150 GPD Water Saver RO/DI System. I measured my water pressure before I got it and it showed 60 and the minimum is 65. I figured I would get away with it but it isn't working well. I believe I was doing 1:10 (if not worst). The water pressure on the RODI unit shows 30 so I'm going to get a booster pump. Does anyone have a recommendation of which booster pump to go with?

I'm looking at these but not sure which one to get:
- Smart Buddie RO/DI Booster (BRS)
- Adjustable Water Booster Pump (Home Depot)
- 1/4" 8800 Booster Pump Kit - Aquatec (BRS)
 
Maxout
Zoanthids

scrappy35

Active Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Nov 30, 2020
Messages
101
Reaction score
73
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
elizabeth
I’ve got the brs 150 and the brs booster set at 70 psi and it works great with my well. My well pressure fluctuates from 40-60 psi and I am getting right about a 1:1 ratio. I have the 8800. I go through a lot of water with 15 FW tanks (50%rodi and 50% well) and 2SW tanks.
 

FMF0331

Valuable Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Sep 24, 2011
Messages
1,438
Reaction score
1,209
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
New York
I got the 8800 booster pump kit about a month ago. Very easy to set up, one tube in one tube out . My psi went from 40 to 70 psi. I thought about buying the Smart Buddie but didn't need multiple lines coming in and out of the unit. Wanted to keep things simple.
 

Gtinnel

5000 Club Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Mar 20, 2020
Messages
7,487
Reaction score
6,736
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Charleston, WV
I've read about the smart buddie, although I've never used it, and it has some pretty nice advantages. It is a booster pump, auto shutoff valve, restrictor, and it automatically flushes the membrane. Just from watching a video it seems incredibly simple to hook up, although not quite 2 lines simple.
My system is automated with solenoids and a micro controller but if not I would probably consider the smart buddie if I knew what made it only rated for up to 100gpd.
 
AquaCave Logo Banner
OP
A

albertski

Active Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Jul 22, 2021
Messages
110
Reaction score
32
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Homer Glen, IL
I got the 8800 booster pump kit about a month ago. Very easy to set up, one tube in one tube out . My psi went from 40 to 70 psi. I thought about buying the Smart Buddie but didn't need multiple lines coming in and out of the unit. Wanted to keep things simple.
Does it make a lot of noise or shake a lot? I wanted to mount it on the same wall as the RODI unit but worried it will shake too much.
 

Woodyman

Well-Known Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
May 25, 2021
Messages
510
Reaction score
442
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Ohio
Does it make a lot of noise or shake a lot? I wanted to mount it on the same wall as the RODI unit but worried it will shake too much.
I don't experience any shaking, it makes noise, but it's a pump so they aren't silent. It's not anything extremely loud or noisy though. It's a gentle 'hum'
 

JumboShrimp

2500 Club Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Aug 12, 2018
Messages
4,706
Reaction score
6,351
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
16F3C9E8-E331-4623-9987-16E8DB570B59.jpeg

The 8800 from BRS. Boosts me all the way to 87 PSI and makes RO/DI water so fast it’s incredible.
 
Reef Chasers Aquaculture

FMF0331

Valuable Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Sep 24, 2011
Messages
1,438
Reaction score
1,209
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
New York
Does it make a lot of noise or shake a lot? I wanted to mount it on the same wall as the RODI unit but worried it will shake too much.
I mounted the booster on the wall next to the RO/DI unit, no problem at all on the shake. The noise level was not as bad as i thought it would be. I just wish it has a ( ON/ OFF ) switch, instead of pulling and plugging in the plug. Might add a toggle switch in the future.
 

Toys For Kids Drive

Untitled-2 copy.jpg

Have you ever had a nano reef tank?

  • I have one now (leave a photo in the thread)

    Votes: 226 45.6%
  • Yes, but in the past

    Votes: 111 22.4%
  • No and no plans to have one

    Votes: 85 17.1%
  • No but I want to have one in the future

    Votes: 66 13.3%
  • Other

    Votes: 8 1.6%
FnR
Top