Lyretail Anthias v/s Darts issue

jpcaram

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi Everybody! I'm rather new to the hobby and have slowly been stocking my reef tank (65 gal) with fish. I had 2 clowns, 2 darts and 1 watchman goby. I decided to add a Lyretail Anthias, based on my understanding that they are peaceful. Unfortunately, she likes to chase the darts. Mostly when I show up (meaning food is coming). Now the darts hardly ever come out of their hideout. I haven't seen one of them out in about a week, but I think it is still alive. The other one I've seen out daily for a few minutes.

It seems I'm having to choose between them at this point since I don't think one of the darts will make it much longer. I'm okay having to make the choice, but I would like to understand better how to continue to pick fish such that they all get along. I'm afraid that if I choose to let go of the anthias, I may soon get other fish that the darts are afraid of. Maybe it is the darts that are too easily scared, and I should go for more active fish in general.

What are your thought on this matter? And is there hope that I can do something to improve the situation with my existing population? Thanks!

blaxsun

10K Club member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I haven't been this hobby as long as some, but during my intense exposure to the hobby I can relate that often fish that are supposed to be peaceful aren't and that fish that are supposed to get along don't (or vice versa).

I had 4 dartfish and they all ended up on the floor, so I suspect that you're right: at least one fish thought they were fun to chase. :beaming-face-with-smiling-eyes:

Even when using fish compatibility charts there are so many factors to consider (rockscaping, water parameters, feeding, size of fish, etc.) that it's really impossible to tell if fish A will get along with fish B and fish C.