My aquarium has been unsuccessful

chaifish

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello,

I’ve been losing fish consistently for the past nine months. It’s been a constant struggle to get fish to live past 6 months after acclimating.

My fish have died with what seems like swim bladder disease, or being above or below the tank gasping for air and heavy gill movement.

I have a 40 gallon tank with live sand, live rock, a protein skimmer, built in carbon filter, wave pump (it needs a replacement however), heater, and a thermometer.

I use distilled water to top off the tank. For saltwater I have been using my aquariums store brand but have recently switched to making saltwater at home. I do a 20% water change weekly and my skimmer overflows in less than 10 minutes of use. I clean the glass with my sponge once a week.

For testing parameters I use API testing kit. My numbers are listed below.

PH: 7.5
Amonia: 0
Nitrite: 0
Nitrate: .5
Salinity: 1.022

Pickle_soup

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I am really sorry to hear it. Don't give up. This can be a very frustrating hobby, but it is also 100x more rewarding. So that you don't lose fish, stop buying them for now until we figure out what's happening and how we can help you. Tell us a bit more about your set up. Do you have a sump? Is your skimmer hob? Btw, your salinity is a bit low, but it's nothing major. Try to keep it between 1.023-25.

Pickle_soup

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello,

I’ve been losing fish consistently for the past nine months. It’s been a constant struggle to get fish to live past 6 months after acclimating.

My fish have died with what seems like swim bladder disease, or being above or below the tank gasping for air and heavy gill movement.

I have a 40 gallon tank with live sand, live rock, a protein skimmer, built in carbon filter, wave pump (it needs a replacement however), heater, and a thermometer.