• For a Limited Time the R2R Partner Membership is NOW OPEN! Get some cool swag and chances to win part of over $20,000 in prizes! Click here for more details

Need help with your aquascape?

http://www.marcorocks.com/

TL1

New Member
View Badges
Joined
Jun 29, 2020
Messages
14
Reaction score
47
Location
Savannah
So I put together some plywood to represent my Reefer 350's layout, since it is currently set up as a planted FW tank.

Planning to breakdown the FW tank in the next week or two, long term goal of mixed reef/SPS dominant. Top of the scape sits between 12-13", water level is ~20".

Any thoughts or comments would be appreciated. Thanks.


20200704_191113.jpg


20200704_191044.jpg


20200704_191031.jpg


20200704_192534.jpg


20200704_192500.jpg
 

powers2001

started reefing 1999
View Badges
Joined
May 2, 2013
Messages
4,083
Reaction score
1,698
Location
MONTANA^^^Big Sky Country
I like the concept.

I have a suggestion: move the centre pillar towards the back to provide depth to the scape.

That way that narrow path over the 3 pillars will create a bay.

sketch-1593907476432.png
@Ardeus @TL1 I agree with Ardeus about the bay. There will be a place in the front for various LPS and other bottom dwelling corals like fungia, Zoanthids, flower anemones, and clams.
 

Cooper32803

Well-Known Member
View Badges
Joined
May 25, 2012
Messages
910
Reaction score
324
Location
Orlando, FL
This is the thread I have been looking for!! Lol I have a severely neglected 29g Biocube that I am working on bringing back to life. I plan on building a new cabinet and moving it from my bedroom to my dining room. I am going to redo my rock work and try for a more open concept and cut rocks to make plateaus and also change out my sand bed for something a little heavier than the powder fine sand I have in there now. I had that much rock in it because when I started it nearly 10 years ago, I thought I had to have that much. I don’t want the tank to cycle when I add the new sand to keep the rockstar of a clownfish I have had in there the whole time safe. I know, it’s a tank of rocks right now so some advice In what way to go is more than welcome! I do love the thick branch and the purple rock on the top that I have though.
EC98FA01-8818-4EAE-BD9C-FC02615B3527.jpeg
 

Fins1

Community Member
View Badges
Joined
Apr 20, 2020
Messages
79
Reaction score
74
Sorry didn’t realize I had all those pictures checked. Look at first picture and 7th. From opposite sides though. Thanks
Edit- Please look at them all and give me you critique please.
 
Last edited:
Best reef aquarium LED lighting
OP
Ardeus

Ardeus

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Mar 14, 2013
Messages
1,632
Reaction score
2,095
Location
Portugal
This is the thread I have been looking for!! Lol I have a severely neglected 29g Biocube that I am working on bringing back to life. I plan on building a new cabinet and moving it from my bedroom to my dining room. I am going to redo my rock work and try for a more open concept and cut rocks to make plateaus and also change out my sand bed for something a little heavier than the powder fine sand I have in there now. I had that much rock in it because when I started it nearly 10 years ago, I thought I had to have that much. I don’t want the tank to cycle when I add the new sand to keep the rockstar of a clownfish I have had in there the whole time safe. I know, it’s a tank of rocks right now so some advice In what way to go is more than welcome! I do love the thick branch and the purple rock on the top that I have though.
EC98FA01-8818-4EAE-BD9C-FC02615B3527.jpeg
You can try creating a big island towards the back to the right with that big branch and a very small one closer to the front on the left.

You will probably only use half of the rock.
 
OP
Ardeus

Ardeus

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Mar 14, 2013
Messages
1,632
Reaction score
2,095
Location
Portugal
My last tank a 120 gal was 3 huge live rocks from Fiji. This is the first time I’ve aquascaped anything. I have two options. Taller on the overflow slide or more even height on all three structures? View attachment 1663551
098439F7-708D-4C8A-965F-C88EF261ECF0.jpeg
966AFCB1-51C9-4EEC-B9E5-0948ED1A3578.jpeg
03FB6C14-75DA-499A-A706-55EAEB4EDE07.jpeg
738958B3-64EF-4DCD-BB4F-018EFD0ED32E.jpeg
6886A50E-368C-4509-9447-F593159FCDA2.jpeg
082AAB79-3919-42F5-8466-219F26B3D78F.jpeg
925AFFDA-16DC-41F8-AEA7-6A7ACCE2BBB8.jpeg
View attachment 1663551
9CD4E047-5671-4EBB-BA39-7CC98FB2FFA3.jpeg
Thoughts
I would try joining 2 of those structures so you end up with 2 very different ones.

I would also try rotating them slightly to create diagonal lines and make better use of the tank depth wise.

sketch-1593931120995.png


sketch-1593931179417.png
 

TL1

New Member
View Badges
Joined
Jun 29, 2020
Messages
14
Reaction score
47
Location
Savannah
@TL1 what are you using to keep the rock work together?
Nothing right now, Life Rock Shapes FTW... I Plan to use AquaMaxx Reef Welder and some other reef safe glue's/epoxy I have around the house.

I saved all of the small dust/sand sized particles that fell off while scaping, I'll use that to cover the epoxy while it is setting, and I plan to fill in the cracks throughout this scape with some smaller pieces of broken rock.
 
Top Shelf Aquatics

chymel

New Member
View Badges
Joined
Sep 5, 2018
Messages
5
Reaction score
28
Location
Slidell, LA
So, new to the hobby, decided to go with TBS for rock and sand. Since i can't pull it out for long to attach pieces together, i'm left with friction fitting pieces together. This is what i came up with. Suggestions? I'm considering swapping the substrate maybe a 1/4 section at a time here in the near future once it completely cycles to something like carbisea's special grade. e


20200704_170756.jpg
 
OP
Ardeus

Ardeus

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Mar 14, 2013
Messages
1,632
Reaction score
2,095
Location
Portugal
How’s this. Swapped the front and middle structures And added a couple rocks for height Pardon the bucket adding that lititle rock overhang

D705DEC0-7616-414C-917A-E40048BDC7E9.jpeg 4BB79E07-6C58-439C-91D3-4CCFE7017B55.jpeg 851E8293-9979-4BEC-8F4B-5E397FEE1B08.jpeg DDD0A3D7-7E11-4A36-AEDB-F87C5EA57189.jpeg 5F0B717E-F3BE-48B0-A463-679E0756900A.jpeg 9422B153-557A-40F4-884E-79BFC24012F1.jpeg
It looks better than the previous one and it will look good when it's covered in corals.

I'm not too sure about that big arch. If you remove it and turn the layout into 2 structures, it can look more interesting.
 
Fragtacular Sale
http://www.marcorocks.com/

How often do you have some type of algae issue?

  • Constantly Something

    Votes: 159 43.4%
  • Every Month

    Votes: 19 5.2%
  • Every Few Months

    Votes: 44 12.0%
  • A Few Times A Year

    Votes: 49 13.4%
  • Once A Year Or So

    Votes: 41 11.2%
  • Every Few years

    Votes: 17 4.6%
  • Never.....(are you lying?)

    Votes: 22 6.0%
  • Other (please explain)

    Votes: 15 4.1%

Online statistics

Members online
2,315
Guests online
4,578
Total visitors
6,893

New Posts

Shop at PunisherCorals.com
Top