New tank low nitrates to phosphate ratio

vdubers

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
New 7ft long 650 litre mixed reef running for a couple of months although I did use a mix of live rock from my old established system and new dry rock.

Things are going pretty well but currently going through the uglies with hair algea and cyano. But both of these are reducing.

My issue is I have an imbalance of nitrate to phosphate.

Nitrate detectable but either 1ppm or less (with salifert).

Phosphate 0.084 with Hanna ULR.

Alk 8.4-8.6 (fluctuates throughout the day)

1. Do I let the tank keep running as is since it’s still establishing its self?
  2. Do I reduce the phosphate with phosgaurd that I have on hand?
  3. Do I increase nitrate by potentially leaving filter socks in for longer or turning off skimmer during the day or both?
  4. I could raise nitrate by dosing but figure if this is the route might as well try the free route first?

I don’t do water changes at the moment aiming for no water changes and using Xepta autoBalance to maintain Alk, calcium, magnesium and trace elements. However always plan to do water changes if nutrients get too high.

My few SPS frags are doing well and showing growth not sure how fast they are meant to grow but I’m taking any growth as a plus.

Pallys are not happy with some dying off Xenia also not happy but my organ pipe coral and clove polyps are loving life.

Fish for anyone interested
Regal tang
Foxface
Royal gramma
Copper band butterfly
Scopas tang (juvie)
Chromis x5
Pyjama cardinal (x3 juvie)
Flasher wrasse (juvie)
Fire fish x2
chalk basslet

Various CUC although I admit I could do with more.

Feed self collected mussel and nori in the morning. (Copperband goes crazy for mussel for anyone struggling to get theirs to eat, had mine for about 18 months now).

One cube frozen krill, one large cube frozen brine and marine fauna S pellets in the evening.