New to R2R

Tony Thompson

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi my name is Tony Thompson and I live in the North East of England. I have been keeping Aquariums on and off for some 30 years. A large part of that time was spent breeding and keeping Lake Tanganyika Chiclids. Over the last 3 years I have turned my attention to keep Marine Aquariums. After some research on the subject, what stood out to me the most where two points.

The lack of awareness and promotion in the hobby with regards captive bred stock and other sustainable choices available to hobbyists, in particular the UK.

The large number of myths and miss leading advice surrounding the Biology and Chemistry involved in keeping an aquarium.

On the first point. I decided from the start, to make my aquariums as sustainable as possible. I only use artificial reef rock, captive bred fish and cultured corals. The knowledge I gained in my en devour to find suitable stock, particularly captive bred fish. Lead me to set up the Face Book Group Sustainable Marine - Reefers UK https://www.facebook.com/groups/susutainablemarinereefersuk/. The aims of the group are to post relevant information including captive bred and aqua cultured availability, environmental issues and other aquarium related articles with respect to sustainable practices.