New to sticks, will this be enough?

rennjidk

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello everyone. I'm new to keeping acros and just ordered my first battlebox. I'm looking for any advice or input that maybe helpful.

System is 16g and maintained with AFR and a 12oz daily WC. Lighting is 2 Primes giving 250-350 across the rockwork on AB+ measured with Apogee. Age 1yr running w/ 3yr live rock and ocean direct sand.

No3 30
Po4 0.10
dKH 8.2
Cal 480
Mag 1343
Temp 77.8F
Sal 34.7ppt

1000005246.jpg
1000005247.jpg
1000005248.jpg

Flow is a single Nero 5 set to pulse between 950gph & 1250gph every 8 secs.

1000005249.jpg

Some of my concerns are the single wave maker. I really don't have room/outlets for more equipment, nor the budget at this point. Also, I pretty much only feed TDO pellets. I don't dose anything else besides AFR. I do have some reef chili laying around that I could start feeding with, or make the switch back to frozen. I'm not sure how much PE is dependent on feeding, or how much color comes from things like amino supplements.

Any thoughts or comments greatly appreciated. Thanks.

Last edited:

TheGrimReeferTx

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Sticks are some of the hardest corals to grow. Tank stability and good conditions are going to be what makes you successful with Acros. That being said, from my understanding:

No3 30 - This is way too high. Should be 0 to 10 depending on your methodology.
Po4 1.0 - Too high, should be .03 - .1.
dKH 8.2 - This should be okay, but you will have better growth around 9.0.
Cal 480 - This should be okay. I would shoot for 450.
Mag 1343 - I've seen articles saying not to measure Mag. So... I'll pass here?
Temp 77.8F - This is good.
Sal 34.7ppt - This is good.

With all that being said, I would also look at other factors. How long has the tank been up? What PH and dKH swings do you have? Can you keep parameters stable> How much experience in reefing do you have?