Newb with SPS - Issue?

E.intheC

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Disclaimer- I’m a relative SPS newbie but I’ve been reefing since 2007/2008.

I have a 120 gallon display with a 55 gallon sump.

Lighting- ATI T5 6 bulb fixture with 4 blue+, an actinic bulb, and a coral+. I also have a 4 ft LED supplemental light.

Flow- 3x MP10s and and MP40 for flow, coupled with my Eheim 1262 return pump.

Filtration- ATB 840 skimmer and I use a small amount of carbon and GFO in a Tunze Reactor. I also have a small UV sterilizer. Tunze ATO for salinity related stability.

I also have an Apex controller and Trident (which is awesome by the way).

The tank has been up and running since February.

My Alk stays rock-steady at 8.4 and calcium is around 380. I’m trying to slowly raise that to above 400, though. Mag is aprx 1250.

My nitrates and phosphates are close to zero. I test regularly but the Salifert test kit isn’t great IMO. It’s consistent, as far as I can tell. pH is generally 8.1 - 8.2.

I change about 5 gallons per week with new salt water.

With that out of the way- here’s the “issue”. I just traded for 8-9 SPS frags. Mostly acros, millis, poci’s etc.

I have had a red digitata in the tank for a month or so. It’s doing fine. Nothing crazy regarding growth etc yet.

When I first dropped the new frags in the tank, they looked phenomenal. Over the past day or two though they have “dulled”. Not browned out really, not bleached, etc. just not as vibrant as before.

I’m curious if this is normal and I’m being OCD or if it’s something I should worry about.

vetteguy53081

Well known Member and monster tank lover
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
13   0   0
Bring CA to 450

Mag- 1300
Alk 8-9
Salinity 1.025
temp 77-79
ph 8.1-8.3

How did you acclimate coral?
Did you turn lights to acclimation mode or down to low blue and slowly ramp them up?

OP
OP
E.intheC

E.intheC

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Bring CA to 450

Mag- 1300
Alk 8-9