Newbie to seahorses

jnj97

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I'm jenn. I've been doing reef tanks for a couple of years and now I want yo venture in dwarf seahorses. For christmas I got a fluval m40 14 gallon tank.
I need advice and a help from people who have experience with them..
Here's my questions. #1 where should I get them from I'm in ny by albany
#2 the best way to feed them (I know the eat baby brine
#3 any and all info anyone would like to help me with.
Thank you in advance

vlangel

Seahorse whisperer
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi Jenn, I am Dawn. I have erectus seahorses, so I don't actually have DSH experience. However I read a lot of threads on them.

If I were buying them I would consider Seahorce Source as my 1st choice. They sell captive bred seahorses although I do not know for sure that their DSH are CB.
I think KPAquatics also sells wild caught seahorses and they have a good reputation.

They do eat baby brine shrimp. Bbs is easily hatched with a diy hatchery using a 2 liter pop bottle. They should be enriched with Dans Feed which you get from Seahorse Source. Usually DSHs do better if their diet is supplemented with copepods.

There is a very interesting thread on seahorse.org about keeping DSHs in a bigger tank (40g breeder)that was seeded with pods and mysis half a year prior to adding the DSH. Its interesting reading even if you do not plan to set up a large tank.

DSH are more rigorous than most folks can keep up with long term. For instance, vacations require someone to take over with hatching and enriching food to feed your little ponies multiple times a day. DSHs need fed 2 or 3 Xs every day.

Hopefully someone who actually keeps them will give more info.

Congaken

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I'm jenn. I've been doing reef tanks for a couple of years and now I want yo venture in dwarf seahorses. For christmas I got a fluval m40 14 gallon tank.