Overflow and return pump for ~360gallon?

Ecotech Marine

MjOB

Community Member
View Badges
Joined
May 15, 2021
Messages
27
Reaction score
2
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Kansas
Hey everyone, I'm getting a 96" x 30" x 30" acrylic tank for a mixed reef aquarium, should be roughly 360 gallons with a 120 gallon sump.

Would the Modular Marine 3000gph low profile overflow and EcoTech Vectra L2 (3100gph) return pump be sufficient for an overflow and return pump? (I'll have additional powerheads in the tank obviously). Would there be a better return pump? I was hoping to keep the return pump to ~$500 or less.

 
Click to watch best scape method in 5 easy steps!

Dolphins18

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Aug 11, 2020
Messages
1,025
Reaction score
1,259
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Cary, NC
I'd prefer more turnover on a tank that size, when a pump pushes up several feet you can expect a fairly large reduction in the rated GPH.
Dual overflows with 2 of those pumps would put you in great shape. You can even go with cheaper pumps to make it more affordable.
I'd imagine pushing up is more like 2000-2200 GPH on that pump, a turnover of 4x per hour, the right place for turnover is between 8-10x per hour imo, so dual 3k gph pumps would put you right where you want to be.
 
OP
M

MjOB

Community Member
View Badges
Joined
May 15, 2021
Messages
27
Reaction score
2
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Kansas
I'd prefer more turnover on a tank that size, when a pump pushes up several feet you can expect a fairly large reduction in the rated GPH.
Dual overflows with 2 of those pumps would put you in great shape. You can even go with cheaper pumps to make it more affordable.
I'd imagine pushing up is more like 2000-2200 GPH on that pump, a turnover of 4x per hour, the right place for turnover is between 8-10x per hour imo, so dual 3k gph pumps would put you right where you want to be.
Would I effectively need 2 sumps in order to have 2 return pumps?
 

Dolphins18

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Aug 11, 2020
Messages
1,025
Reaction score
1,259
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Cary, NC
Would I effectively need 2 sumps in order to have 2 return pumps?
No not at all, essentially one return pump would run to one side of the tank, and the other to the opposite side. This is also really nice in the event of a pump failure, that way you still have water moving from top to bottom without having to wait for a replacement.
 
OP
M

MjOB

Community Member
View Badges
Joined
May 15, 2021
Messages
27
Reaction score
2
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Kansas
No not at all, essentially one return pump would run to one side of the tank, and the other to the opposite side. This is also really nice in the event of a pump failure, that way you still have water moving from top to bottom without having to wait for a replacement.
Interesting, looking back it looks like the posts/articles I read were discussing not doing multiple in series.

Can I trust the 3000gph for Modular Marine (https://modularmarine.com/collectio...ow-profile-overflow-box-with-removable-weir)? I ideally want the 1 external overflow (Tank will be up against a wall into a corner, so I'm wanting the overflow to be accessible on the left end)

If I could get by with the 1 external overflow at 3000gph and do 2 return pumps, and get that 8x, that'd be my ideal.

But if I can't trust that, I'll work on figuring something else out.
 
OP
M

MjOB

Community Member
View Badges
Joined
May 15, 2021
Messages
27
Reaction score
2
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Kansas
Also, can I get something with "inside skimmer box- 30" x 1.375" x 5.5" tall" into a 30" wide aquarium, or do I need some wiggle room there?
 

Dolphins18

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Aug 11, 2020
Messages
1,025
Reaction score
1,259
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Cary, NC
Interesting, looking back it looks like the posts/articles I read were discussing not doing multiple in series.

Can I trust the 3000gph for Modular Marine (https://modularmarine.com/collectio...ow-profile-overflow-box-with-removable-weir)? I ideally want the 1 external overflow (Tank will be up against a wall into a corner, so I'm wanting the overflow to be accessible on the left end)

If I could get by with the 1 external overflow at 3000gph and do 2 return pumps, and get that 8x, that'd be my ideal.

But if I can't trust that, I'll work on figuring something else out.
As long as the external overflow box is rated for at least 5000-5500 GPH this should not be a problem.
 

outhouse

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
May 25, 2021
Messages
362
Reaction score
189
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Auburn ca
Way to much flow that is not needed. I have close to 300 g system and only run 300 to 400 gph. It's been fine for decades. Most tanks returns not designed for high flow and the noise would be stupid how loud it would be. Not much flow is needed for said equipment to run your tank. Don't overthink your sump. I run a 100g basement sump, and only run my pump at 45 % it saves lots of electricity and keeps noise levels in check.
 

KStatefan

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Jun 24, 2015
Messages
1,865
Reaction score
1,778
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
MHK
Way to much flow that is not needed. I have close to 300 g system and only run 300 to 400 gph. It's been fine for decades. Most tanks returns not designed for high flow and the noise would be stupid how loud it would be. Not much flow is needed for said equipment to run your tank. Don't overthink your sump. I run a 100g basement sump, and only run my pump at 45 % it saves lots of electricity and keeps noise levels in check.

I have always been surprised at the range of flow that is recommended I think I have seen from 1 to 20 times. I think some of that comes from people purchasing a 1000 gph at 0' for their 100 gallon tank then say they are running 10X flow.
 
Maxout
OP
M

MjOB

Community Member
View Badges
Joined
May 15, 2021
Messages
27
Reaction score
2
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Kansas
After enough digging I did find another thread on here where people clarified that the "10x turnover" is just overall GPH flow within the tank: sump + powerheads combined, and that really 2-4x "sump turnover" is sufficient (so in a 360 gallon tank, 720-1440gph).

I am not certain on inside vs outside dimensions. The tank is still being made. The LFS told me the acrylic comes in 96" x 48" sheets, and so they were going to do a 96" x 30" x 30" for me and then the LFS was going to build a 18" tall frag tank out of the remainder. I have messaged him about if the 30" inside part of the 3000gph marine modular would work or not, haven't heard back yet.
 

outhouse

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
May 25, 2021
Messages
362
Reaction score
189
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Auburn ca
You don't need more than 300 gph for a sump a frag tan. I ran an Iwaki that did 600gph and it was way to noisy and my electricity bill stupid. Switched to DC pump and turned it way down. Now running a 2643 gph pump but at 45% and with 8 feet of head pressure I'm close to 300 to 400 gph. No reason to go AC
 

outhouse

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
May 25, 2021
Messages
362
Reaction score
189
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Auburn ca
Think about the accident factor, with high flow it leaves no room for error and something is flooding. I'm on a ato from a 10g storage tank so worse case my tank doesn't get to much fresh water no matter what happens. Anything above 500gph and it usually maxes out a dual overflow
 
AI Hydra

Do you quarantine new coral before adding it to your reef tank?

  • YES always

    Votes: 79 18.0%
  • Sometimes depending (tell us why)

    Votes: 52 11.8%
  • NO never

    Votes: 296 67.3%
  • Other (please explain)

    Votes: 13 3.0%
noopsyche
Top