POLL - Alkalinity - What do you keep your tank at?

What do you keep your Alkalinity at?

• Total voters

that Reef Guy

Frag Swap Crusader!
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I am curious to see what most people keep their Alkalinity at since most guides say between 7-11 or 7-12

Whereas they always say 450 exactly for Calcium and 1350 for Magnesium.

Please participate in the Poll.

Please Post why you keep your Alkalinity at that Level too.

Less then 7.0
Above 12.0

Last edited:

Randy Holmes-Farley

Reef Chemist
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
So you are saying it is not something to concern yourself with or once you arrive at stability you just no longer check?

It is very important to keep at appropriate levels. Probably the single most important after salinity and temp. But I've been keeping the tank using limewater in an ATO for 19 years. For a number of years I did track it, and it was nearly always in what I consider a safe range (7-11 dKH), so I stopped measuring it. Still, once in a great while I did test it again and it was still OK.

That said, it is not a heavy SPS tank so the demand is not especially high. If it were, I would probably measure it occasionally to make sure I was keeping up with growth. :)

Last edited:

Keithcorals

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I try to keep mine around 7.5 in my SPS system because it seems to give me better color and when I've let it get higher I've had problems with montis and acros getting alk burn. But in my zoa tank I keep it around 8-9 to help with ph

DFW

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0