Powered By Reef Breeders Tank Build!

Discussion in 'Reef Breeders' started by Reef Breeders, Jun 7, 2018.

1. Reef Breeders

Reef Breeders ReefBreeders.com R2R Supporter Gold Sponsor Toys For Kids Sponsor

Hey Everyone,

Let's start with a bit of background here. I started Reef Breeders because of my passion for reef tanks- when I developed my first light I had a 90 gallon reef. Then like most people in this hobby, I went up to a 125. That wasn't enough, so then I set up a 220 gallon with it's own sump room. I started Reef Breeders pretty young, and a year after the 220gallon was up, I moved away for college and my aquarium inevitably went downhill. I finally broke it down with the help of a friend who found a good home for my fish and corals, and sold off all of the equipment last year.

Fast forward to now, I graduated on May 20th from URI with a Bachelor's Degree in Business Administration. I moved into my first long term apartment, and got the go-ahead to setup an aquarium from the property owners. For the tank- I went to see Scott Crowe of Ocean State Aquatics in Coventry, RI. He is a big proponent of the Waterbox aquariums- and after seeing the awesome builds he does and all the shiny new tanks at the shop, I decided on the WaterBox Platinum 75.2 in white. This aquarium is going to be a model of what Reef Breeders and Coral Box equipment can do for your reef- and a major theme of this build is going to be efficiency. Everything will be DC powered, and everything will be Reef Breeders or Coral Box, except for the aquarium heater.

This is both the culmination of years of adding new products that cover every aspect of a reef aquarium, and the start of my next journey into reef keeping.

For starters, here is a list of the equipment that is being collected at the start of this build. I will add to this list as the build progresses:

Screen Shot 2018-06-07 at 2.41.48 PM.png

The spot where the aquarium will most likely be going:

IMG_4743.JPG