Problem with IceCap Battery Backup and Gyres

AI Nero 5

GMF21

New Member
View Badges
Joined
May 10, 2019
Messages
24
Reaction score
23
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
I recently set up a new tank with a pair of Maxspect XF250 Gyres connected to a single Maxspect XF250 controller. Everything works fine with no issues.

When I connect an IceCap Battery Backup the problem arises. With everything plugged in and fully powered, only one of the power heads will work properly. The other one turns off within about 5 seconds and I cannot turn it back on. If I disconnect the backup battery, everything goes back to working as it should.

I have sent the battery to CoralVue and they mailed it back saying everything worked fine in their tests. They sent me a replacement controller, powerbrick for the controller, and pump motor in an attempt to solve the problem but to no avail. I sent CoralVue a video showing how everything was connected and demonstrating the issue. They had no idea what was causing the pump to shut off.

Now I am left with a $110 paper weight as the (non)resolution process with CoralVue took longer than the retailer I purchased it from will allow for returns

Any thoughts on how to solve the issue?
 
Maxout

Schnizzle

Well-Known Member
View Badges
Joined
Dec 26, 2017
Messages
713
Reaction score
1,076
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
DelMarVa
Mine works quite well with my xf230 pair. It almost sounds like it's going into the backup mode.
I have both my pumps wired directly to the Maxspect controller.
The y-cable B1 goes to the battery backup OUTPUT 1 with B2 going to the Maxspect controller.
Y-cable A going to the Maxspect power supply.
The small power supply plugs into the INPUT on the battery for charging.

When I first installed it I thought the xf230's sucked. BUT it was me forgetting to turn on power for the Maxspect power supply to the controller and I was in backup mode. Mine did something like you describe. Pump B shutoff and pump A dropped to 30%.

I had an issue where my fuse and cap was missing on the battery and I had troubles.

I cannot speak any higher of these pumps/controller now.

Hopefully something here helps?
 
OP
GMF21

GMF21

New Member
View Badges
Joined
May 10, 2019
Messages
24
Reaction score
23
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Mine works quite well with my xf230 pair. It almost sounds like it's going into the backup mode.
I have both my pumps wired directly to the Maxspect controller.
The y-cable B1 goes to the battery backup OUTPUT 1 with B2 going to the Maxspect controller.
Y-cable A going to the Maxspect power supply.
The small power supply plugs into the INPUT on the battery for charging.

When I first installed it I thought the xf230's sucked. BUT it was me forgetting to turn on power for the Maxspect power supply to the controller and I was in backup mode. Mine did something like you describe. Pump B shutoff and pump A dropped to 30%.

I had an issue where my fuse and cap was missing on the battery and I had troubles.

I cannot speak any higher of these pumps/controller now.

Hopefully something here helps?


Thanks for the info Schnizzle. My connections are correct and the power to the controller is on when and I still have the problem.
 
OP
GMF21

GMF21

New Member
View Badges
Joined
May 10, 2019
Messages
24
Reaction score
23
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
agreed that something doesn't make sense. I have switched the cables to no avail.

Not exactly sure where the power management is located but that seems to be the issue. Since i have tried a replacement controller and powerbrick for the controller not sure where else to turn.
 
Orphek OR3 reef aquarium LED lighting

leepink23

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Nov 22, 2016
Messages
2,229
Reaction score
1,710
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Mississippi
agreed that something doesn't make sense. I have switched the cables to no avail.

Not exactly sure where the power management is located but that seems to be the issue. Since i have tried a replacement controller and powerbrick for the controller not sure where else to turn.
I know this is an old thread but did you ever figure out the issue? I have the same problem with the v3.0 connected to 2 xf350
 

Kobarg

New Member
View Badges
Joined
Aug 17, 2019
Messages
5
Reaction score
1
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Support has been very helpful for me, they think it’s the controller and are sending me a new one. I will update if this fixes the problem
out of curiosity was the controller still under warranty? I am in the process to work with support now and see where it takes me.
 
Fritz
OP
GMF21

GMF21

New Member
View Badges
Joined
May 10, 2019
Messages
24
Reaction score
23
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
I know this is an old thread but did you ever figure out the issue? I have the same problem with the v3.0 connected to 2 xf350
The problem was solved for me by using a different Y cable. Not exactly sure why it worked, but it was the only thing left to try.

Good luck.
 
AI Nero 5

PICK the Most Tested & Least Tested Parameters of your Tank (Pick 2)

  • Calcium (most)

    Votes: 47 6.5%
  • Alkalinity (most)

    Votes: 507 70.2%
  • Magnesium (most)

    Votes: 5 0.7%
  • Phosphate (most)

    Votes: 68 9.4%
  • PH (most)

    Votes: 68 9.4%
  • Nitrate (most)

    Votes: 69 9.6%
  • Nitrite (most)

    Votes: 4 0.6%
  • Ammonia (most)

    Votes: 19 2.6%
  • (least) Calcium

    Votes: 10 1.4%
  • (least) Alkalinity

    Votes: 4 0.6%
  • (least) Magnesium

    Votes: 68 9.4%
  • (least) Phosphate

    Votes: 14 1.9%
  • (least) PH

    Votes: 38 5.3%
  • (least) Nitrate

    Votes: 12 1.7%
  • (least) Nitrite

    Votes: 206 28.5%
  • (least) Ammonia

    Votes: 272 37.7%
Torch SALE
Top