Recommendations for 34 gallons

L3vi

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi there,

I’m completely new to the hobby. Played with the thought of getting a freshwater aquarium for a while. Then listen to my heart and got a reef tank instead. Dimensions are 80x40x40 cm, wich google tells me is about 31 ¹/₂ x 15 ³/₄ x 15 ³/₄ (does that sound right? I have no idea;)).

So I build the reef, bought all the gear and am generally ready to go. Problem is that I still don’t have ja clear picture about the Fish I want to get.

Asking for stocking recommendations in the german forums (wich is where I’m from) backfired completely, as most users insisted that a tank of this size is not capable of hosting vertebrates at all. A few suggested I should maybe try a Gobie with Pistol Shrimp. I feel like I might get banned if I should dare to ask again. I know that this view is pretty specific to German aquarist and I will certainly keep it in the back of my head but I still want to see the bigger picture.

Do you have any stocking suggestions for a 34g tank?

I really would love to have a gobie + pistol shrimp as well as a Cleaner Shrimp and about 5 hermit crabs but feel like I’m definitely missing a „showpiece“ fish (or a pair).

Not a big fan of Clownfish or Orchid Dottyback.

Quietman

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Welcome Aboard! That's interesting, I've seen German nano tanks with fish and they looked just fine.

I have 34 gallon display (RSR 170). I prefer smallest peaceful fish I can find for the most part.

Yasha Goby (with shrimp - go with smaller pistol) (Yellow Watchman are bigger).
Blenny - Tailspot quite a character. (Lawnmower/Canary bigger)
Clown Ocellaris - I only have one and Ocellariis is peaceful and smaller - seems to be less aggressive without mating IMO
Chromis (Blue)
Firefish any (they can be in tank with Yellow/Yasho no problem)
Cardinalfish
Royal Gramma Basslet (there are others same size)