Red Sea Reefer 170

MyStiC

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi everyone,

I just joined the forum and I am a new hobbyist!

3 weeks ago I set up my Red Sea Reefer 170 its a 34/35 gallon tank but the entire system is around 45 gallon with the sump.

I originally started with a 10g nano and read so much about crazy spikes happening that I decided to buy a larger Aquarium.

Ive started with an AI Prime HD (the powerhouse) as my light.

I started my base with Aragonite sand and 25 lbs of cured Indonesian Live Rock. To this I filled with system using RO water and Instant Ocean Reef Crystals in the mix. Ive spent about $3000 on my system and like I said I am on my third week of cycle. I have an in sump protein skimmer and have added crushed corals to my one filter sock.

I am very very new to this hobby and have been researching/talking to LFS/ and observing my cycle with the Red Sea Reef Foundation Pro Test Kit and a ATC Refractometer.

I am open to any advice or questions about my system and am looking to learn more about this hobby.

I am attaching some photos I turned my light on just for these as it is off for the cycle.

My test results most recently are:
Ammonia: 0
Nitrate: 2
Nitrite: 0
pH: 8.2
Salinity: 1.023
20170219_141416.jpg

20170219_142929.jpg 20170219_142517.jpg 20170219_141344.jpg
It seems I have coralline algae growing and the rock is growing all kinds of random things.

I am a little unsure of what else to look for in the cycle. Growth is deffinitely happening but the lack of spikes concerns me. Any advice would be much appreciated!

- MyStiC
Brandon

mailman1

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi everyone,

I just joined the forum and I am a new hobbyist!

3 weeks ago I set up my Red Sea Reefer 170 its a 34/35 gallon tank but the entire system is around 45 gallon with the sump.

I originally started with a 10g nano and read so much about crazy spikes happening that I decided to buy a larger Aquarium.