Reef Brite XHO Power Supply Question

littlebigreef

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
12   0   0
I've been able to establish that while my unit is still working the power supply needs to be replaced.

The unit is 72" and so should run on the 120v unit. I'm not splitting it nor dimming it, can I use a back up 48" (90v) unit I have on hand? My options seem to be limited and another 120v unit I tried on Amazon doesn't have the right sized connector. When I try the 90v power supply the light fires right up. Naturally I don't want to do any long term damage to the light.

blaxsun

10K Club member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
No doubt, but that's what I'm trying ascertain. I'm not an electrical engineer, just looking for a stop gap measure with something I have on hand until a reputable dealer has the 120v back in stock.
Well, it will probably work until it doesn't. If you're running the light <75% you should be ok (not an electrical engineer either, so take that with a grain of salt).

oreo54

5000 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
No doubt, but that's what I'm trying ascertain. I'm not an electrical engineer, just looking for a stop gap measure with something I have on hand until a reputable dealer has the 120v back in stock.
What exactly does it say on the power supply?

OP
OP
littlebigreef

littlebigreef

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
12   0   0
My question is moot, I was able to find an exact replacement from the good folks of Premium Aquatics in Indiana.

If there is an electrical engineer in the audience I’m curious about the effects of different wattage power supply on units generally.

oreo54

5000 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
My question is moot, I was able to find an exact replacement from the good folks of Premium Aquatics in Indiana.