Reef Noob's 425 XL v3 sump

Noobreef

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi fellow reefers!

Reef Noob here. A basic introduction of myself, i have not owned any reef aquariums before this. This 425 XL will be my first as ive been reading forums that go 'bigger is always better'.

I have researched saltwater tanks for close to 3 years now, and have finally pulled the trigger. I have had experiences with freshwater fish as well as ornamental shrimps.

The reason of this thread is basically for all you pros to advice me as i am not only a Reef Noob, but a plumbing noob as well. There werent many reefers out there with the v3 sump + attaching it to an external chiller, which in my case is a must.

However, i have an OCD thing whereby once i start researching, it never ends. Basically covered BRS tv, reef2reef, reefergil and loads others but of course knowledge is neverending.

My plans for my 425 xl are

1) Retain most of the 425 xl's original functions changing only the original return pipe into my custom pipes because it needs to be attached to a chiller for where i live in.
2) I will custom design the return and a manifold system that consists of 3 20mm outlets for reactors/outlets etc, a water filter set converted into a reactor that is on top of the manifold, and a Tee off junction fora UV set.
3) The chiller will be located outside of my house. I will PROBABLY be using a Vectra L2 (1 1/4 plumbing) to pump the water around 8 meters horizontally through and fro to the chiller + the manifold which will have a ball valve attached.
4)Ball valves, pipings, check valves are hardcore industrial grade that is white/red themed , so hopefully it should be hardy. Cost a bomb tho.

The aim is to basically create a dream tank, eventhough it would take me months to carry it out (which is fine for me as my new place is getting ready)

So far, i have purchased most of the equipments such as

1) a BM c5 skimmer
2) 2 reactors